Need advices (HDs and OS) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2003, 03:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 45
Question Need advices (HDs and OS)

Hello !
I have recently bought a Seagate 40Go HD (7200rpm), and I have already an old Seagate 8Go HD (5600rpm). I have two possibility : I can put my OS (Win2k) and my game on the 40Go (7200) HD and use the 8Go (5600) for a second PC I'll build, or use the 8Go (5600) for Win2k and the 40Go (7200) for my games. What should I do ?
__________________

__________________
\"Je ne connaitrai pas la peur car la peur tue l\'esprit...\"

- Paul Muad\'Dib Atreides.

------------------------------------------------

Machine Specs :

- Athlon XP2600+
- 512DDR PC3200 Dane-Elec
- GeForce FX5600 256DDR 8x
- Sound Blaster 16PCI
Uriel is offline  
Old 08-13-2003, 01:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

hi there,..what you do depends on what you priortize..

if youre into heavy gaming and you want to install tons of games,..then use the 40gb and just use the 8gb on the second pc. but assuming that this second pc will actually have the latest, if not, newer and faster components compared to your current pc..then i suggest that you use the 40gb with this second pc.

i hope it makes sense. please correct me if i got it wrong...
__________________

devlish96 is offline  
Old 08-14-2003, 10:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 45
Default

Well in fact my second PC is just an Athlon XP 1800+, Geforce2 mx 200 32SDR (first is 2600+ GeForce FX5600 256DDR). What I wonder is which solution will give the fastest system for my first computer.
__________________
\"Je ne connaitrai pas la peur car la peur tue l\'esprit...\"

- Paul Muad\'Dib Atreides.

------------------------------------------------

Machine Specs :

- Athlon XP2600+
- 512DDR PC3200 Dane-Elec
- GeForce FX5600 256DDR 8x
- Sound Blaster 16PCI
Uriel is offline  
Old 08-14-2003, 10:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 45
Default

By the way, I'm sorry but I haven't all your message undurstand...
I'm French and there is some things I don't totally understand.
__________________
\"Je ne connaitrai pas la peur car la peur tue l\'esprit...\"

- Paul Muad\'Dib Atreides.

------------------------------------------------

Machine Specs :

- Athlon XP2600+
- 512DDR PC3200 Dane-Elec
- GeForce FX5600 256DDR 8x
- Sound Blaster 16PCI
Uriel is offline  
Old 08-14-2003, 01:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

i suggest you put the bigger/faster drive,..which is the 40gb,..on the faster system. btw,...whats "hello" in french?
devlish96 is offline  
Old 08-15-2003, 02:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 45
Default

I also can use both on the faster system, and put Win2k on the 5600 8Go and the games on the 7200 Go... Is it better to have only one fast hd on which i put Win and the games or one slower with win2k and one with the games...

Now French lessons : "Hello" in french is "Salut"
We also say "Bonjour" for both "good morning" and "Good afternoon", "Bonsoir" for "Good evening" and "Bonne nuit" for "good night".

And we say "Merci beaucoup" for "Thank you very much".
lol
__________________
\"Je ne connaitrai pas la peur car la peur tue l\'esprit...\"

- Paul Muad\'Dib Atreides.

------------------------------------------------

Machine Specs :

- Athlon XP2600+
- 512DDR PC3200 Dane-Elec
- GeForce FX5600 256DDR 8x
- Sound Blaster 16PCI
Uriel is offline  
Old 08-15-2003, 03:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

if you put both HD,..the 40G 7200 and the 8G 5600/5400(im not sure)...all hd will run at 5400/5600,..its ok,..but its not ideal if you want full system performance.
devlish96 is offline  
Old 08-15-2003, 03:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 45
Default

Ok... I'll put win2k and the games on the same drive, and the 8go on the second computer !
Thank you very much for the help !

Merci beaucoup !
__________________
\"Je ne connaitrai pas la peur car la peur tue l\'esprit...\"

- Paul Muad\'Dib Atreides.

------------------------------------------------

Machine Specs :

- Athlon XP2600+
- 512DDR PC3200 Dane-Elec
- GeForce FX5600 256DDR 8x
- Sound Blaster 16PCI
Uriel is offline  
Old 08-15-2003, 03:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

no problem, buddy. Merci beaucoup to you too!
devlish96 is offline  
Old 08-17-2003, 08:17 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 192
Default

well i suggest installing ur OS on ur new 7200 rpm drive , coz this will give u much better preformance than ur old HD...
__________________

weswes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.