need advice on new comp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2004, 06:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
Default need advice on new comp

hi
ive been spending quite some time on deciding what parts to have in my new comp

this is my comp atm

amd athlon1700+
geforce4 mx 440
30 gb hardrive
256 mb ram sdr
ecs k7s5a

i have some idead about what ill already need
like
amd athlon64 3000+
ASUS K8T800 K8V Deluxe
ASUS ATI RADEON 9800PRO

also i need 512 ddr ram
and a 160 gig harddrive
but of those i have no idea what type or brand
and as last id need a new psu with ???W, and maybe a whole new case to

im not gonna upgrade it very soon, im gonna wait about a month or 2 months
meanwhile the price will have dropped to i suppose

but, will this thing be any good ? cause i know basically nothing about this stuff
__________________

Challis is offline  
Old 03-08-2004, 07:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Well, Kingston, Crucial, Corsair and Mushkin makes fine DDR RAM Kingston and Corsair are the most common though and probably have the best deals on both low end and high end RAM

As for hard drives, Western Digital makes fine drives. You can probably find a 7200rpm, 8mb cache drive for a pretty decent price easily

Antec also makes great power supplies and cases
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 03-08-2004, 08:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
Default

wich type of ram can i use in the k8v?
like pc3000, 3200 ... ?

and to go with that question, can i also put that ram in my current mobo ?
Challis is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 02:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

For RAM, the general consensus seems to be Corsair XMS PC3200. I recommend getting a brand name 400+ watt PSU, which should hold any amounts of power and fan cooling you need...unless you plan on using the fans to make it fly.

Saphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128mb vid card.

I would question whether you want to spend the money on the AMD64, as few, if any programs utilize 64-bit technology right now. You will probably be better off buying the XP 3200 or whatever and just upgrading your rig to 64 when there are more programs out there (and there are more 64-bit processors, and they are all cheaper).

From what I hear, Seagate makes good hard drives, and they are known for being exceptionally quiet. Might want to look to themfor a HD, but Western Digital is all good also.
__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 04:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
Default

and can i put that Corsair XMS PC3200 also in my k7s5a mobo, or not ?
cause if i can id already buy the ram and put it in my current comp cause this one has only got 256 sdr
and then later put it in the new comp

also, why the Saphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128mb vid card
instead of the ASUS ATI RADEON 9800PRO wich has 256 mb

and about the athlon64 3000+ and xp 3200+
they are about thesame price
and , atleast thats what i see in reviews, they are just as fast
im not planning to go buy another cpu after like one year to get the 64 bits, then i could have just bought it the first time i suppose
Challis is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 05:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Challis
and can i put that Corsair XMS PC3200 also in my k7s5a mobo, or not ?
cause if i can id already buy the ram and put it in my current comp cause this one has only got 256 sdr
and then later put it in the new comp

also, why the Saphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128mb vid card
instead of the ASUS ATI RADEON 9800PRO wich has 256 mb

and about the athlon64 3000+ and xp 3200+
they are about thesame price
and , atleast thats what i see in reviews, they are just as fast
im not planning to go buy another cpu after like one year to get the 64 bits, then i could have just bought it the first time i suppose
Umm, well Sapphire makes fablous cards for one and you really don't need 256mb of video RAm, cause nowadays don't utilize it

Well, I'd say go with the AMD64 3000+ or 64 3200+, because they are alot better for gaming, plus you have the on-die memory controller which is excellent for performance I'd go AMD64 rather than the aging XP's
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Closed Thread

« Help! | Monitors »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.