Is it necessary for MORE POWER!? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2004, 11:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to chasen54
Default Is it necessary for MORE POWER!?

Ok everyone, really quick question here... I have a 300w ps and I really dont wanna spend money for a new ps. The question is however, I am running 2 hd's and 2 cd-drives, as well as a new Radeon 9600 XT and a Soundblaster Audigy 2. Oh and 512 ddr ram. Could running on 300w become a big problem... I do not see any problems and have not since I built it. Oh and the chipset is a AMD Athlon XP 1700+ which equates to about 1.8 ghz. Am I short-arming myself in the long run with the way my computer runs... or is it no big deal? Any opinion is welcome
__________________

chasen54 is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 01:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie
Default

if you dont add lights and gauges and such I think it should be fine
__________________

__________________
IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
DVD-R
64MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 01:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

this PSU calculator may help you decide.

http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/

-Also remember a quality/good name PSU will last longer and preform better than the same no-name brand PSU.
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 01:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie
Default

I don't know about that Calculator I entered my specs and it said that I Need 232 watts but my power supply is 100 watts or some low number like that

anyway my PS is much less thatn the perscribed amount and I have never had power problems
__________________
IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
DVD-R
64MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Old 01-19-2004, 03:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 5
Default

I am also having ps problems. By the calculator I need a little over 300 watts. What is a good brand name ps? I plan on getting 400 watts to be safe.

Thanks
jepmep is offline  
Old 01-19-2004, 04:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

your 300watt is probably a generic brand PSU. i would buy a quality 400 watt or greater for your system. low quality power supply will damage components when they fail. it's worth spending $60 to protect your investment. your 300 watt is probably straining under all that load, especially with your 9600.

some good brands i can recommend is enlight 420watt, enermax, and antec brand except their 430watt True Power model. best way to find a good product is go to www.newegg.com and search under their power supply category. browse for items and click the "customer review" link. you can read reviews from customers who bought that product. i read both good and bad, but tend to read the bad reviews for warnings from product defects.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 01-20-2004, 07:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

Remember that the calculator gives you the power usage when the device is in full use. If your HDD or CD-ROM ore any other parts are idle, then they don't consume any power.
Those ratings are fairly accurate and give you a good idea of the PS to buy in order not to exceed the power requirements of your system when everything is working full blast, which doesn't happen very often.
__________________

__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.