neat to try.. - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2006, 11:17 PM   #31 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Why the !-1ell are you stuck on the Celeron?

Dude, you MUST be on drugs. First, you want to create a High-end system, but with a crap processor. And now, after we show you that the Sempron is a cheaper and better alternative to the Celeron, you're still stuck on that. Whats up with you man, what do you want anyways?
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 11:40 PM   #32 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I don't think he understands why the Sempron is better.

the AMD CPU's have a lower frequency, but it takes them a fewer amount of clock cycles to complete instructions than Celerons/Pentiums.

if an Intel CPU took 12 clock cycles to complete an instruction, it might take the Athlon/Sempron only 7 clock cycles to complete the same instruction

that's why the AMD CPU's can perform better, with lower clock speeds.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 11:58 PM   #33 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

i am stuck on celeron because for some odd reason (probably the druggies that built my family's computers) my celeron is way faster than my parents AMD. Therefore, i like celeron.

if i saw some proof of a sempron being fast, then i would belive everybody.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 04:55 AM   #34 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

what are the specs of the pcs?

edit: also i see you are quick to jump to conclusions about the sempron vs. celeron scenario. what makes you think a 64 bit celeron would be better than a sempron 64 when "intel's" EMT 64 technology is actually leeched directly from AMD.thats right people, a history lesson. Intel had to pay AMD for the technology
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 05:42 AM   #35 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

EMT 64 is not even native to the architecture. intel CPU's have to use their existing 32-bit architecture to process 64-bit instructions. to do this, they use emulation, which makes it slower.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 05:47 AM   #36 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

wow there you go, even more reason to hate it. i didn't know that apok. all i knew is that the "EMT 64" instructions are basically AMD's AMD64 instructions which intel paid them off for.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 06:39 AM   #37 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
if i saw some proof of a sempron being fast, then i would belive everybody.

Check this out as i said before the only thing the celeron win's at is encoding and the like's,At gaming the sempron's beat the crap out of the celeron's every time and even beat some of the pentium 4's
Shumway is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 06:50 AM   #38 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

Too bad I found all this out not long after I bought my computer...which was years ago mind you. I most likely won't buy one ever again. I dont think I will waste my money upgrading to a P4 2.4Ghz. I'll just wait and save for a new rig.
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 10:30 AM   #39 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
what are the specs of the pcs?
Parents PC:
AMD Athlon 2800+ (1.8 Ghz)
960 MB DDR RAM (64 MB taken by video)
80 GB Samsung HD
SIS 760 64 MB Chipset

My PC:
Intel Celeron D 330 (2.66 Ghz)
760 MB DDR RAM (12 mb taken by video)
40 GB WD HD/30 GB maxtor HD
Intel 845 64 MB chipset
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 10:52 AM   #40 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Defenitly something wrong with your parent's Athlon,There is no way in l-l ell that your celeron would beat it.
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.