n00b is back!! :D :D - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2004, 08:58 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

9600xt is $200 ($140 online) and 9800xt is $500 ($380 online). The X800 pro is a better deal for price/performance because it's $400 ($360 cheapest online) and it equals nearly 4 times of the 9600xt. It also made the 9800xt an obsolete card (seriously, would you buy a 9800xt for $500 when there is a card twice as good and only $400?).
__________________

WQ87 is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 10:05 PM   #12 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

Keep in mind snipa.inc is from Australia.. 1 US dollar equals approximately 1.4 Australian dollars, so that accounts for a lot of the price difference. Check http://www.xe.com/ucc if you want the exact conversion.
__________________

þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 10:49 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

Quote:
(especially considering you upgraded from a Celeron )
hey paradoz, what ya mean by that? I have a Celeron 2.0g, 478 socket and it has worked great for me.
jaksback is offline  
Old 05-31-2004, 01:09 AM   #14 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jaknlisa619
hey paradoz, what ya mean by that? I have a Celeron 2.0g, 478 socket and it has worked great for me.
I suppose it all depends on what you spend most of your time doing. Personally I do a lot of multitasking, so HyperThreading, the extra cache, and the increased memory bandwidth on the P4 are pretty much essential for me. Celerons aren't all bad though... I Have a Celeron 2.4GHz in my laptop and it does OK, but I certainly wouldn't use one in my main desktop machine.
þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 03:41 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 15
Send a message via AIM to snipa.inc Send a message via Yahoo to snipa.inc
Default

hey guys....im really burning here...
i bought the creative 5.1 5200
and when i set my sound card to 5.1, the sub just distorts....like it just rumbles instead of the normal sound...can anyone help plz?
snipa.inc is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 03:59 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it may be the speakers themselves don't support 5.1; what speakers have you got?

- Aussie PC shops I like:
www.msy.com.au - cheaper in just about all aspects, especially on the big brands, what they lack is service (because they are so busy with lots of people there all the time looking for good deals)

www.cpl.net.au - more parts available but a bit more expensive

www.scorptec.com.au - stock just about every part you can get, but only for parts you can't get at msy or cpl because they are more expensive

www.topbit.com.au - good if you're looking for a laptop, and has some desktop PC parts too
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 04:04 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 15
Send a message via AIM to snipa.inc Send a message via Yahoo to snipa.inc
Default

lol i got everytin from msy wot a coincidence
look at the link in my system specs for the speakers...
snipa.inc is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 04:10 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I think I remember hearing that with 5.1 surround, the speaker positioning can lead to distorted sound
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 04:11 AM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 15
Send a message via AIM to snipa.inc Send a message via Yahoo to snipa.inc
Default

im talking about the sub here...it rumbles (its normal when i put it to 2 speaker)
snipa.inc is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 04:18 AM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I think it is about the subwoofer and the 2 speakers next to it affect each other
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.