Mystery To Me - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-28-2004, 09:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4
Unhappy Mystery To Me

Maybe someone can help me with a very strange situation.
2 week old PC ran fine for 1 week..."thats not the strange part"(haha)
After the system crashed running SBS 2003, i tried to do a repair, both from the recovery console and from the R option with in the OS setup. Both Failed, still not strange part.
I decided to clean install, but had read errors during the file copy stage....could not copy files, but the file was different everytime it errored out. I thought to clean the cd and try again, still same issue, and still different files not being read. Next I changed CDrom with new one, same issue, still read errors. Ok, so now I have tried to install a different OS from a new disk, and again still same guys following this? At this point im losing it, I installed new harddrive, new cables, used both IDE and then SATA...and damn it still smae stinking issue...please any one have suggestions other then blow it up.

seanymo is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 09:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 120

i have the same prob with my new system, it seems it only works when it wants, i have only managed to successfully install xp once, i think our problem maybe hard drive related!!!!! unfortunately!!! do u get a completely different error every time? Is ur hard drive a maxtor!!!

ardy89 is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 09:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 321

try installin with a diff hd if u can get ur hands on 1.

AMD 64 bit 3500+ Socket 939
MSI K8N Neo 2 Plat. Socket 939 mobo
Corsair TWINX1024-3200 RAM
Nvidia GeForce 6800 GT Graphic Card
Altec Lansing 5051 Speaker system
Creative Sound Blaster live 7.1
Maxtor SATA 200Gb HDD
Plextor PX-712A DVD±R/RW Drive
Wired Mouse/Keyboard by Logitech
Samsung 795MB Flat Screen CRT
Raidmax Scorpio 868W Casing
Antec Truepower 430 or 480
Thermaltake (Pipe101) Heatsink
Thermaltake Street Fighter Fan
derfist is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 09:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543

You might have faulty controllers on your motherboard. I'm not sure what to tell you about that though...I dont know of any way to test this theory.
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5

No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 11:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 128
Send a message via ICQ to Smokin-A.I. Send a message via AIM to Smokin-A.I. Send a message via Yahoo to Smokin-A.I.

it may be your bios has changed, tyr to resetup your bios and make sure it matches what you have installed.
also ..let us know what setup you have ok?it really helps to determine what may be or have gone wrong ok?
if its not artifical intelligence, why have it?
Smokin-A.I. is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 05:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124

Check your email it may be of some help to you .
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 09:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 120

My specs are as follows:

Amd athlon xp 3200+
Gigabyte GA-7N400L
512mb pc3200 ram
80gb Maxtor hard drive
Aopen combo drive
Cobra case
Coolermaster xdream 2
Nvidia fx5700

I got a feelin its the hard drive thats duff i tried two xp pro discs now and neither work!!
ardy89 is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 01:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 163
Send a message via Yahoo to xenosoul

I had the same problem with installing xp on a newly built machine. I turned out to be the disk. I just used a different copy of xp and it loaded up just fine.
xenosoul is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 09:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 120

Yeah but i have already tried different copies of xp so i have a feeling its the hard drive!!

ardy89 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.