My Spec good enuff for Source? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2005, 09:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 108
Default My Spec good enuff for Source?

Intel Pentium 4 2.8Ghz HT
1024 MB Dual Channel OCZ RAM

Do you think it's good enough to run source?
And if so, what FPS do you think I would get?


meepins is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 09:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432

Yes, that should run it very well


<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 10:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO

Without a doubt VERY HIGH FPS with those specs

-Dan The Man
<a href=\"\"><img src=\"\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 10:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya

Yeah, you can max it out and with 4x AA and 8x AF and still have no lag with those specs.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 12:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 327

my friend has a gforce 4 and he plays source... so ya lol
Echo_ is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 01:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431

Dam that system will make your source play very nicely ..Great system man !!
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 03:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 245

what are the recommendations for source?
Lenovo Thinkpad X220
i7 2620M
4GB DDR3 1333MHz
320GB HDD 5400rpm :(
Jae is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 04:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

I wouldnt go far enough to call it great, but it will play source without any problems.

Even with an 2.4 GHZ skt 939 Athlon, i still get letdowns. I also have a 6600GT (overclocked)
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 11:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool

Haha, thats crazy. I get 30 FPS average with a Ti. 1024x768 no AA or AS.
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 12:04 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088

DJ-CHRIS, a AMD64 2.4ghz will play that game fine.....

Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.