My (Refurb) SATA didn't come with a Power Adapter Cable - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2005, 04:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default My (Refurb) SATA didn't come with a Power Adapter Cable

The title says it all. Its a Maxtor DiamondMax 7200 RPM 160GB SATA HDD that I ordered off of tigerdirect.com and it didn't come with a Power Adapter Cable. Nothing like that came with my Motherboard either, so I'm confuzed. Is there anything I can do to order one online either from Tiger or the Makers?
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 09:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default

http://www.cableclub.com/advanced_se...keywords=20480

there you go its 3 bucks with free shipping off of pricewatch.com all you do is plug it into one of the power plugs from you psu and then into your drive
__________________

__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 09:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Thats a little retarded your MoBo wouldn't come w/ one, some HD's dont carry IDE cables so you have to make sure.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 10:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default

It is not that uncommon for the mb not to come with the power cable. That is usually part of the psu not the mb. I just built 4 pc 's with intel boards, all sata and i had to get the power cables seperate since they were not on the psu. Now if it did not come with the cable that goes from the board to the drive that is a little strange. if you also need that here is a pretty cheap one from the same site so you could get them together.

http://www.cableclub.com/product_inf...oducts_id=2047

Otherwise you could check pricewatch.com if you want to get a little better quality cable, not sure if it would really make a difference though
__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 01:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

No, the other cable came with the mobo, 2 of them, I just need a Power Adapter Cable. Thanks guys.
Flanker is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 03:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Think its avaliable at my local Radioshack? I don't want to have to wait another week for it to come.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.