is it my power supply? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2004, 12:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to Goos3d
Default is it my power supply?

just recently i was on my computer and it just shut off...i tried to turn it back on but it was getting no power. i figured the power supply died so i bought a new one, its the same brand, enermax whisper, the new one i bought is a 420w, the old one, im not sure because i didnt build the computer, but it says total power - 431w. but anyways i hooked up the new power supply and it just doesnt want to work. im pretty sure i set up all the jumper pins and stuff correctly, but when i plug it in and press the button, nothing happens. ive never built a computer before so..anyone know what i did wrong?

Goos3d is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 12:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932

Try a different power supply. If that doesn't work, you popped your mobo.


Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 12:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to Goos3d

but the mobo led light comes on when i plug in the power supply..if my mobo is fried would that still come on?
Goos3d is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 12:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 128
Send a message via ICQ to Smokin-A.I. Send a message via AIM to Smokin-A.I. Send a message via Yahoo to Smokin-A.I.

Yes it could .
if its not artifical intelligence, why have it?
Smokin-A.I. is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 12:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 120

Make sure that the wire leading from the button on the case (Power on/off) is connected in the right place to the panel on the mobo. I plugged it in one space over and could not turn my pc on or off. The led on the mobo was on, but it would not turn on.
My rig:
P4 3.0 Northwood oc\'d to 3.6
Zalman Alu-Cu hsf
Asus p4p800e-dlx mobo
1 GB (2x512) pc-3200 OCZ performance series rev. 3 Ram (2-3-3-6)
ATI Radeon X800 Pro
Arctic ATI Silencer 4
Raidmax Scorpio case
Creative Labs Audigy2 ZS Gamer edition
2x74gb WD Raptor, Raid 0
Windows XP pro w/ SP2
Sony 19\" LCD (SDM-HS95)
Logitech MX-1000
Jeffrock is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.