Is my Pc Good enough - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2004, 11:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default Is my Pc Good enough

Ok im no newby tech i the head of my it depatment in school
and ive been gamming fo a while but i would just like to know fom some othe gamers/tech's what should i do to make my games un good i put it in my feinds vidcard and the game didnt run to good what should i upgrade?
__________________

__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 01-27-2004, 11:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 127
Default

A video card seemes like the obvious suggestion.. What video card did you borrow from your friend?
__________________

fiezk is offline  
Old 01-27-2004, 11:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default

Nvidia 5600
__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 01-27-2004, 11:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 22
Thumbs up

Thats a nice card, at least nicer than what i got - Geforce 440 MX -
All in all, you have a nice comp. Can't think of anything I would do to increase performance, but you might want some more HD space.

Imaxle
Imaxle is offline  
Old 01-27-2004, 12:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 205
Default

Yeah, that should be a fine comp. Look at a 9600XT for a cheap vid card or a 9700 Pro if you can afford it. Other than that maybe a bigger HD, but it won't increase your gaming performance.
__________________
Shuttle XPC SB61G2
P4 2.8 800 Mhz FSB
1024 Dual channel DDR400
ATI AIW 9700 Pro
120 GB Maxtor SATA
Lite-On 411S DVD+-R/RW
Logitech Elite Duo wireless KB/Mouse
nvalhalla is offline  
Old 01-27-2004, 12:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default

ah i c so like a new chipset like a nforce 2 or more ram woundt be in order?
__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 01-27-2004, 12:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 205
Default

No, I wouldn't think it would give you much of a performance increase for the money. Vid card is about all you need, the rest is a great comp.
__________________
Shuttle XPC SB61G2
P4 2.8 800 Mhz FSB
1024 Dual channel DDR400
ATI AIW 9700 Pro
120 GB Maxtor SATA
Lite-On 411S DVD+-R/RW
Logitech Elite Duo wireless KB/Mouse
nvalhalla is offline  
Old 01-27-2004, 04:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

the fx5600 is a decent card. it should run your games fine. what problems did you have with the game and what is the game?

which drivers did you install for that video card and what operating system is it on?
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 01-28-2004, 08:36 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default

I hade the new foreware i think it is i mean dont get me wrong it ran good at 800 x 600 and 1024 x 768 but any higher it was choppy and i was running halo and 3d mark 03......
__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 01-28-2004, 01:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 205
Default

Yep, your video card would be holding you back. The 5600 can't really handle Halo all that well. Get a 9600 XT ($150) or spring the big bucks and get a 9700 Pro ($200). Unless you want to try and unlock the pipelines on a 9800SE ($150) and make it a regular 9800, but that doesn't always work and can give you some unpleasent artifacting.
__________________

__________________
Shuttle XPC SB61G2
P4 2.8 800 Mhz FSB
1024 Dual channel DDR400
ATI AIW 9700 Pro
120 GB Maxtor SATA
Lite-On 411S DVD+-R/RW
Logitech Elite Duo wireless KB/Mouse
nvalhalla is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.