My own ISP? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2004, 11:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default My own ISP?

I've heard about people setting up their own ISPs and having to pay for net access anymore. My question is: what would I have to buy, set up, install, etc. to make my own ISP?
If it helps, I run win98 se (I've got to put my system into my sig!)
__________________

Jorsoft is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 02:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

hmm win98se, yep you meet all the software requirements to run an ISP service i could understand how you could setup a wireless ISP-ish network and share with nearby networks, but where did you hear about this thing you are talking about? i'd like to learn more about it. also maybe you should ask this in the networking section, this is a network specific question. if you plan to save money, i highly doubt this is a cheap way of doing it.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 12:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 26
Default

YOu can set windows 2k and higher (aswell as NT) To use VPN and accept incoming connections. But not with 98se. I wouldnt do it on your main PC either. Becoming a reseller would be better
St0rM™ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.