My new PC is almost ready and I need some advice - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2005, 08:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Question My new PC is almost ready and I need some advice

Hey I have reall important question to ask, my computer is just about ready to be built and turned on by tomorrow night......
my question is I need to know if my old 5 year 10.0 gig hard drive will work when I boot up the machine this HD has windows XP on it and has 6 gigs of space left. should I leave the OS on it and put the HD in the new machine and install the MB and video card drivers for it ? or should I go ahead and do a clean install of the hard drive ?

also please don't ask why I am using a old hard drive for the new system..... I can't for afford a new hard drive just yet.

MadMikeXP
__________________

-RockMan- is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 08:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

It will work, no reason it wont. Unless it is a crappy drive. It may run crappy, as you dont have that much free space. Drives are SOOO cheap now, you can get an 80gb for $50. Just read the last part, sorry.

Probably it would be wise to just do a clean insta. Your computer wil probably run alot better.

Apparently my 'L' key isnt working too well. That sucks.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 08:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

You will need to format it and do a clean install of windows.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 08:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

you DO know that you're going to have your whole HDD wiped out b/c you're installing on a new mobo

and then you're going to have to re-dl the OS once you get a new HDD unless you use the old one, and i don't think you're going to want to
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 08:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default

Well I have no choice but to do this.... and if everything works.... so be it ! I have a great deal of knowledge of what I have to do to get this up and running as soon I get a 1 year old used Nvidia geforce AGP card from a friend of mine at church I'll get the hard drive ready for migration into this system when I get home tomorrow at 12:00 pm.

I have one last serious question is there some way in hell that I can get microsoft to take off the license activatioon code off my old system so that when I install XP on my new PC and go ahead and used the product code for my system ? if so can somepne please tell me how so this ? if not I'll guess I have to use my universal activation crack to activate it the evil way if microsoft won't cooperate with me..... also I have the full complete legal version of XP home.
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 10:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to NickBrown7804
Default

Just call up microsoft they will ask u some questions and as long as u have the cdkeys you should be frine.
__________________
Sometimes I wonder if I\'m enough a nerd to do this...

Intel P4 3.6 Intel LGA775 board.
Nvidia BFG 6800 GT OC PCI-e.
Ultra 600W power supply unit.
2 80 gig Maxtor (raid0) 160 gig (bulk)
OCZ 2048MB 4200 DDR2 (2 x1024MB)
ThermalTake. Tornado primary.
19\" LG LCD
NickBrown7804 is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 02:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

You could always download Linux if you had to...
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 12:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MadMikeXP
Well I have no choice but to do this.... and if everything works.... so be it ! I have a great deal of knowledge of what I have to do to get this up and running as soon I get a 1 year old used Nvidia geforce AGP card from a friend of mine at church I'll get the hard drive ready for migration into this system when I get home tomorrow at 12:00 pm.

I have one last serious question is there some way in hell that I can get microsoft to take off the license activatioon code off my old system so that when I install XP on my new PC and go ahead and used the product code for my system ? if so can somepne please tell me how so this ? if not I'll guess I have to use my universal activation crack to activate it the evil way if microsoft won't cooperate with me..... also I have the full complete legal version of XP home.
Technically you are puting Windows on a new PC, technically, so you will, technically, need a new copy of Windows. But, thats only technically.

You can activate Windows a number of times before things start to get noticed.
__________________

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.