My New PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2004, 10:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default My New PC

Ok, I have an AMD Athlon XP 3000+ based computer. I've decided to sell the components I don't need from there to build my Pentium M server. The AMD Athlon XP 3000+ is a rare unlocked Barton with no mods, so I should be able to get quite a bit for it.

However, please check my setup for any compatibility issues and stuff like that?

DFI 855GME-MGF Socket 479 Motherboard
Intel Pentium M 725 (1600/400/2048) Dothan
2 x 256 MB Infineon DDR333 Dual Channel
Western Digital Caviar 80 GB HDD
Maxtor 60 GB Hard Drive
LSI Logic Ultra 320 Cont. ON PCI-X
Seagate 36.6 GB U320 HDD
Generic Floppy Drive
GeForce MX 4000
Eagle Tech Silver Case w/ 450W PSU & 2 x Case Fans
Windows 2000 Server

The board comes with the heatsink so that is no problem, the heatsink usually doesn't run or if it does then at 500 RPM so it will be silent. I have some overclocking plans for this machine.
__________________

Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 11:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

why just 512 megs of RAM for a server? that makes no sense to me.
__________________

__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 11:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

I've ran SQL and Oracle server on 256 MB of PC133 on my Pentium III machine that ran at 733 MHz. Right now, I've been running a Celeron D 315 which I recently sold after using it for like two weeks to carry me over for this. It isn't all that heavy work, I sit at a computer at work for 7 hours so I don't do all that heavy work at home. 512 MB should be enough.

Anyone other suggestions? mATX can fit into a regular ATX case right? Is a 450W PSU enough for this or do I need more?
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 11:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 447
Send a message via AIM to Pavlyk
Default

512 is weak
Pavlyk is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 11:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

Anyone other suggestions? mATX can fit into a regular ATX case right? Is a 450W PSU enough for this or do I need more?

(About the memory, I read up on memory and the Pentium M. People have said that the Pentium M is designed to run in low memory environments. So, I think 512MB should be enough.)
Megadeth2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.