My new computer! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2005, 09:24 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

...All I can say to that build is:-

Bo' Selecta

In other words, that's a very sweet comp. As others have said, you might as well invest in tried-and-tested system RAM brands like Corsair or Kingston- doesn't have to be the most expensive unless you want to overclock for a living...

Otherwise, enjoy it
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 10:24 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 124
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by diabloII
corsair value used to be a pain in the *** to set up with the DFI lanparty, you're MUCH better off with a gig of twinmos at only around $77 or so

btw, you're gonna need a 24pin poweer supply to be safer, such as OCZ powerstream 520W, antec neopower 480W, or antec trupower II 520W
DiabloII are you sure the thermaltake isn't 24 pin because it looks like it here http://www.thermaltake.com/purepower...0049atx12v.htm but do you think the ones you mentioned would do a better job?
__________________

__________________
http://img66.imageshack.us/img66/2982/email2aq.png
[size=1]New build
dfi lanparty sli-dr
amd x2 3800+
evga 7800GTX
2 gigs (2 x 1gig) ocz ram
500 gigs (250gb x2) seagate hard drive
RAID 0
Windows XP Home Edition
mooseman is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 10:51 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yeah it's SLI / 24 pin
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 01:16 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to Mionics
Default

dude all you need is a 450 or 500 watt psu for that. the 680 is really too much man
Mionics is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 01:48 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 124
Default

How is this one? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104152 the only problem is I can't find a list of the connectors for the PSU and I can't find out if it will work with a 24 pin motherboard. But beside that do you think that one is still too powerful?
__________________
http://img66.imageshack.us/img66/2982/email2aq.png
[size=1]New build
dfi lanparty sli-dr
amd x2 3800+
evga 7800GTX
2 gigs (2 x 1gig) ocz ram
500 gigs (250gb x2) seagate hard drive
RAID 0
Windows XP Home Edition
mooseman is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 01:50 AM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to Mionics
Default

that is perfect but if i can recommend one more thing man look for that wattage on a dual fan powersupply. xoxide.com is a really good site but you might wanna get the model number of somthing you like on there and put it into newegg just to see if you can get it cheaper
Mionics is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 01:55 AM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to Mionics
Default

i says this ones pretty nice http://xoxide.com/cooler-master-realpower-450.html the stuff they have on there is pretty sweet bro. http://xoxide.com/24pincoposu.html is to the 24 pin but the others probably have 24 pins as well just check it out. the power supply is really important man so get 2 fans cause not only will it keep it healthy but it will make it quieter
Mionics is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 01:58 AM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 124
Default

Ok I'll look into that but do you know if the PSU that I choose (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104152) is 24pin and what kind of connectors it has?

Edit: I just noticed the PSU I found on newegg is discontinued on xoxide.com http://www.xoxide.com/powerstream.html do you know if there is something wrong with the series that had to discontinue them?
__________________
http://img66.imageshack.us/img66/2982/email2aq.png
[size=1]New build
dfi lanparty sli-dr
amd x2 3800+
evga 7800GTX
2 gigs (2 x 1gig) ocz ram
500 gigs (250gb x2) seagate hard drive
RAID 0
Windows XP Home Edition
mooseman is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 02:05 AM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to Mionics
Default

yeah its a 24 pin. you dont really need to know the pin count. just make sure that it supports amd motherboards which it does if you want i can configure a system for you and send you the link.
just let me know
Mionics is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 02:07 AM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to Mionics
Default

there's nothing wrong with them or at least i haven't heard anything about it but i think that the company is just releasing new ones soon or already has so they dont wanna restock on the old models
__________________

Mionics is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.