My new Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2005, 04:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 135
Default My new Computer

okay im looking to get a custom built computer here are the specs:

Intel Pentium 4 processor 3.0GHz
Sapphire Radeon X850 Pro 256MB PCI-E
160GB of Hard Drive
1GB of RAM

Will this play the new game Battlefield 2
__________________

__________________
--*(ScHuRmY)*--
Schurmy is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 04:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yeah but why are you going intel for a gaming rig?
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 04:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

For your question yes.

But... A AMD would be better for gaming. The X*** cards are not very future proof, as they are missing one vital ingrediant. Pixel shader 3, which the next gen games will need to run the games in direct X 9. So a nvidia card would be alot better, as it does support it.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 04:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

AMD/Nvidia > Intel/ATI
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 04:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
AMD/Nvidia > Intel/ATI
Wow that was useful information! Sweet deal....

That card works great for a budget card. The amd chip should be a little less money too. Are you getting a good deal on that setup?
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 05:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I would hardly call it a budget card. And the "AMD/Nvidia > Intel/ATI" wasn't useful, if you want to do video decoding etc. than Intel will always be better, and ATI is not bad, it is just lacking the PSM3, which makes it a pointless buy.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 05:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

the ones I have bought for the shop have been half the price of the higher end cards that is why I called it budget. I hear good things about the saphire brand too.
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 05:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

dude, didn't we already go over this like 500 thousand times?
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 05:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

only 5-600 times, TF lives for this argument though!
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 05:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Ok pixel shader 3 is not used by alot of games. The only reason people diss ATI is because of its poor performance in Doom 3. The x800 xl is in the area of the 6800GT in other areas besides Doom 3. However, that is a major game, and ATI has def lost many sales because of this aspect.

Ya, and make sure the pentium has hyperthreading. It will play Bf2 just fine, as the x850 is designed to compete with the 6800Ultra.

Also, if you plan on using max settings and max resolution on bf2, I would suggest 1.5 Gigs of ram.
__________________

__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.