My new computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-10-2004, 09:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 11
Default My new computer

Case: A-Top XBlade Silver/Black
CD Burner:Asus 52x32x52x
DVD Drive:Asus 16x
Hard Drive:Samsung 120 GB 7200 RPM
Memory:Corsair Value Select 1GB DDR 400
Motherboard:Asus P4S800
CPU:Intel 2.8E, 800 mhz FSB, 1 MB L2 Cache, HT
Speakers:Logitech X-530 5.1
Video Card:ATI Radeon 9600 Pro 128 Mb DDR
Total:$ 859.71

I know thats its not great but its all i can afford. Also i have 2 questions, will 450w psu be enough for it, and will i need more than the 2 80 mm case fans?
__________________

mAt!c-MaN is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 09:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

450W will be enough for that, and 2 80mm fans will be enough to cool that.
it is the high-end Athlon 64's and 3.4GHZ P4's that need better cooling
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 09:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

i would look at AMD... and yes 450 W is more than enough. and those 2 fan will be fin if u not ocing
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 09:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to Von Theron
Default

Yea 2 fans is ight but the x blade has no rear fan only 1 side and 1 front intake. I would look for another case but its up to you.
__________________
Von Theron is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 09:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

looks nice (compared to my system)
i would get 2 60GB drives though, its safer
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 10:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 11
Default

what case should i get then?
mAt!c-MaN is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 10:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

the case isn't really important, i would safe a little money and get a case later
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 10:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I thik even a low-end Athlon 64, like 2800+ to 3000+ in socket 754 would be better, with a Gigabyte K8N Pro as it is one of the few 754 boards that supports 1600MHZ FSB, and it's one of the less expensive
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.