My neighbor's wireless - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2005, 08:36 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

I'm glad you guys are all have good morals. He is a dunce not to encrypt his network but i know how you feel. My neighbor encypted his network awhile back and i don't wanna sap off his network by hacking into it, which is more illegal.
You can also disable the networks you use if you have Windows XP w/ service pack 2. I don't know where specifically it is, because i'm on a network bridge and i don't use it anymore, but i'm pretty sure that it's in the control panel somewhere. Look under the security options/internet options/something like that.
__________________

__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 08:40 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

Ooo...look i'm having second thoughts.
/start menu/my network places on the left hand side task bar there's network tasks and below that view network connections. Click on that and view all avalable connections and you can disable stuff from there.
__________________

__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 11:30 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

He can send your a computer a RPC (remote procedure call) to shut it down. Since you are on his network and he is probably the admin of it.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 12:01 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by emeraldice
I'm glad you guys are all have good morals. He is a dunce not to encrypt his network but i know how you feel. My neighbor encypted his network awhile back and i don't wanna sap off his network by hacking into it, which is more illegal.
You can also disable the networks you use if you have Windows XP w/ service pack 2. I don't know where specifically it is, because i'm on a network bridge and i don't use it anymore, but i'm pretty sure that it's in the control panel somewhere. Look under the security options/internet options/something like that.
This is just a dumb tech forum. We wouldnt know how to do stuff like that :P

Also i am not sure how to use the RPC, if anyone would elaborate. I have sometihng called IPC$
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 12:09 AM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

Quote:
He can send your a computer a RPC (remote procedure call) to shut it down. Since you are on his network and he is probably the admin of it.
yes, this would be usefull to know how to do. please explain how. and your shur this can be done with any computer, or r u maybe refering to something on a windows2000 server or what not.
jolancer is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 12:31 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

well my wireless i have a question about, when i use my pci wireless card, it is connected at a good signal stegth then all of a sudden it goes to no signal after like 5 mins of good signal, and repedly does that
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 02:26 AM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jolancer
yes, this would be usefull to know how to do. please explain how. and your shur this can be done with any computer, or r u maybe refering to something on a windows2000 server or what not.
Ok, I have this program called GFI LANguard **(this is not a hacking program)**. It tests multiple exploits/missing patches and what not.This program tells me everything about a computer. Plus it is a desktop administration utility. You can scan websites and LAN (wireless or wired). If the computer administrator is using this program, he/she can check for "loop holes" in your system ie: missing patches, open ports etc, MAC address. It also grabs a copy of your windows login password contained in a hash key. Also you can send a message to the user or send them a RPC Shutdown command, basically it tells the user or victim to save your work because your computer will be shutdown in 30 seconds. It does no damage it just pi$$es them off!

Also you can screw up the clock on the computer by changing the year/date/time.

This program has alot of potential to do more.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 10:04 AM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Be a good person and go over and tell him his vulnerabilities.......unless he is an a$$hole
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 10:14 AM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Yeah just go over there and say," Hi, I am your next door neighbor, I connected to your network and did a full system patch and exploit scan of you network and found out your missing a buffer overrun patch 66k2 for XP, also port 45 is open, which is vulnerable to port floods"

He will look at you with a look that you have never seen b4 on somebodies face.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 11:54 AM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Or just tell him his network is VERY unsecure and you can help
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.