My neighbor's wireless - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2005, 08:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 116
Default My neighbor's wireless

I'm on my neghbor's wireless internet because there's is faster than mine, and i was wondering can they see want i am doing, and if so want do i have to do for them not to see (besides the obvious). Also this isn't illegal right cus i wouldn't do it anymore?
__________________

__________________
Compaq Laptop. Intel P4 3.0 with HT tech.
15.4 inch brightview tech.
ATI 128mb 9600
60GB HD
Wireless
512mb of ram
CD-RW
Alexqd3 is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 08:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02
Default

yes it is illegal in one sense since you are using his connection without paying him, so in a way, you are stealing from him.
__________________

__________________
Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 09:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

But when you drive any where with a lap top you can jump onto connections all the time. They cant really stop you.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 09:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

If your neighbour uses a router, which has an Activity Log, then he can certainly watch what webpages you visit.

However, he'd have to 'hack' into your machine over the network if he wants to gain access to your files and so on- assuming you have file sharing turned off, or sensitive files not shared .

...and yeah it is illegal! :amazed: tut tut. I'm sure like all ISP, 'your' one has enforced a one connection, one house acceptance....(but they'll never find out...!).

But make sure that your buddy has WEP or MAC Addressing on, to make the network safer and to block out the connection sharing wannabes .
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 09:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 116
Default

he does have a router, and so do i but mine has a passwprd on it his doesn't. i really dont mean to go on it, but my laptp auto. goes on his sometimes. it like which ever router get to my laptop first, even when i remove his address from my wireless center it still pops back up after a shutdown or restart so it's really not fair for it to be illegal. also where to i go to turn file sharing off, and how do i know if my neighbor is using WEB or MAC?
__________________
Compaq Laptop. Intel P4 3.0 with HT tech.
15.4 inch brightview tech.
ATI 128mb 9600
60GB HD
Wireless
512mb of ram
CD-RW
Alexqd3 is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 09:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02
Default

if he was using web, you would have to enter a number to use his wireless connection. he probably has it on the router, he is just naive or something and didn't turn it on.
__________________
Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 02:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

lol...I though he allowed you to share his internet, and that he knew ...

...well well well...this is worse than illegal (if there's such a thing)....but once again...no one will know .

He's a bit of a dunce not to secure his network!
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 02:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 293
Default

i didn't secure mine, but i can check who is on the connection, so far no one lol
__________________
professor at your service
XFlamez is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 03:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Mine is secured and MAC adress filtered.

Personally, yeah it's illegal, but windows is autodoing it (blame microsoft) and he wont know.

And yeah, if he was smart, he could even intercept your MSN conversations
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 04:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

Quote:
but windows is autodoing it (blame microsoft)
lol i like that 1.
-------------------------------------------
if i had a neigbor like that i wouldnt even bother getting a ISP. id just use there's. if thy dont filter out there connections like stated above, there pritty much just askin for it, if there askin for it, is it illegal

------------------------------------------
/start menu/network/ right click local area connection/disable file and printer sharing.

and to share files over the network u need to right click a file and enable it for that file. so none of your files are shared by default.
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.