My Monitor won't work! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2013, 01:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Spain
Posts: 4
Default My Monitor won't work!

I've been having this problem quite a lot recently.

Basically, after plugging in both my screen and my tower, I switch the power button on the tower on. Normally, my screen just automatically connects but now all I get is a "No Signal" screen and then the monitor goes into standby.

I can hear that the computer is still running because I can hear it whirring. What's going on? Is there a quick fix?

(I've already tried re-cabling both the tower and the monitor)

PS: I'm not linking it to a projector, all I'm trying to do is switch it on (there's no start up screen)

PPS: It's a Windows XP
__________________

MissRavenclaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 01:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,024
Default Re: My Monitor won't work!

Is it an external video card? The card could be dead.
__________________

__________________
7700k • 32GB RAM • 512GB 960 Pro • GTX 1080 • NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 01:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Spain
Posts: 4
Default Re: My Monitor won't work!

I haven't got an external video card :S

But thanks anyway
MissRavenclaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 01:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Spain
Posts: 4
Default Re: My Monitor won't work!

I've just taken out all the cables and left the computer for about 45 minutes. I then re-cabled everything back in and it switched on. The monitor didn't get the "No signal" but unfortunately I got some red flashing lights down the left hand side of the screen and I had to shut the computer down. When I tried to restart it, I had the same "No Signal" problem again.
MissRavenclaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 02:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,024
Default Re: My Monitor won't work!

Well, the video card on the motherboard could be dying too. Do you have another computer you can test the monitor on?
__________________
7700k • 32GB RAM • 512GB 960 Pro • GTX 1080 • NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 02:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Spain
Posts: 4
Default Re: My Monitor won't work!

I'll definitely look into that! Thanks!

Unfortunately I haven't got another PC (only laptops). The strange thing is that sometimes it works and other times, it doesn't!
MissRavenclaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 12:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: My Monitor won't work!

see if you can borrow a monitor from somebody with different cables, if it works, then try your old cable and see if that causes any problems...if not then you need a new monitor. If another monitor does not work, then you might need to consider a video card

Another note: connect the monitor to your laptop and see if it works with the laptop
__________________

Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.