my monitor hates me - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2004, 12:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default my monitor hates me

OK so I got all of this new computer stuff and turned it on today later at night. And it doesnt work and I dont know why. The monitor doesnt reveive the signals from the graphics card or something. It just says its going into power save mode. I tried with another graphics card and it wont work. Everything is plugged in correctly and bla bla bla, the motherboard light is on and everything else is on, fans, HD yaddey ya. I even tried two different monitors which i know work because im using one now. AHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!! SO CONFUSED!!!! PLZ HELP!!!!! PLZ!

my system specs are below under "soon"
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 12:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

The Asus K87 SE Deluxe mobo? I am not getting many returns on google for it. Does it have onboard video?
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 12:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

no its running a 6800 GT, my bad it is a K8V-SE Deluxe, same as yours
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 12:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Have you tried your graphics card in a different computer? Maybe your AGP slot is messed up.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 01:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

i have now tried both of the cards on my older system, both are a no go. As i said my monitors are fine. i am soo confused!!!!
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 10:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

ok i got it, thanks for your help Beedub
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.