Is my GF 6600 GT really stuffed??? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2005, 12:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 120
Send a message via AIM to Therock
Default

I have the same exact problem with my RADEON 9600. I got the card about 3-4 months ago and thats when the problem started. I'm playing WarCraft III and all the sudden my screen freezes and this box says "Your video card stopped responding and the drivers had to be reset, please tell ATI about this problem" and sometiems it happens once-twice in 1 game. It lagged me out of the game before, because it took 30-60s to get back to the game, but since i got my new PCU it takes 10-30s.
I recently got a new mobo (ASUS P4P800 SE) replaced my old ASUS board and the problem still exists. I think it might be caused by my Video Card. I have the newest drivers and i also played around with the settings (set to max performance), but I still can't get rid of the problem.
Do you guys think its the Video Card that causes this??
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego @ 2.8GHz
DFI LanParty nf4 ultra-d
eVga 7800GT 256MB
1GB OCZ extreme series (2 x 512)
OCZ 550 Watt PSU
Samsung 200GB 7200rpm
Tsunami Dream Case
Therock is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 09:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 193
Default

thx for all the help

was just wondering if Gigabyte was a good brand for graphics?

thx

Chrono
__________________

Chrono is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 09:41 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

I have had good experience with PowerColor in the past, can't say the same about Sapphire.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 09:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

eVGA is among the top quality card manufacturers IMO
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 11:30 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 193
Default

i think i may be able to trade my Sparkle GF6600 GT in for a gigabyte one if it doesnt work, which i think it doesnt.

Is gigabyte good? Ive herd them alot in motherboards, but are they trusted for graphics cards?
Chrono is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 12:23 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default

ehh .. how much do uhave to spend? i mean if its like 10-20 dollars more wouldnt u rather spend it and buy a nice eVGA or a PNY instead of keeping trading around crappy manufactuars? For the video card problem i had the exact same problem because like everyone was saying i had a cheap brand mobo and vid card. Im also a kid (14) so i understand that 10-20 dollars more is big leap. (i save my lunch money for bout 4 months ) =D.
__________________
foreverxyoung is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 02:10 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
(i save my lunch money for bout 4 months )
Damn kids! Eat your lunch! kidding
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 04:55 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 193
Default

ok thx all, uve been a huge help

cheers

Chrono
Chrono is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 12:09 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 120
Send a message via AIM to Therock
Default

Quote:
(i save my lunch money for bout 4 months )
And I thought I was the only one :P

Chrono try downclocking your card, that's what I did and it seems to work, will see for how long.
__________________

Therock is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.