My GeForce 4 MX440-SE is not even giving me the DOS screen... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2003, 02:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 5
Exclamation My GeForce 4 MX440-SE is not even giving me the DOS screen...

AHHH!! I just bought this thing and it doesn't even give me the DOS screen. It just blurs and sends weird lines all across the screen. I have gone through all the steps of removing the drivers of hte old before adding the new but it won't even recognise the card or something. I checked to make sure it was embedded all the way into the mother board, and the video connection was good, checked all the pins on the cable... and I don't know what else. Is it broken or what? I also made sure to de-static myself before even touching it. AHH! Please help. I don't want to think i just spent all that money on something that is broken right out of the box...

here's my system specs:
Tyan Trinity 400 motherboard
Intel Celeron 1.1
~380 mb ram
Western Digital 60 GB
Sony CD-RW
Realtek 10/100
Sound blaster pci 128
PREVIOUSLY Nvidia TNT 2 64 -- 32 mb
__________________

furious_guru is offline  
Old 01-22-2003, 03:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 5
Default

oh yeah, win 98 SE too
__________________

furious_guru is offline  
Old 01-22-2003, 02:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

Ouch, if you monitor works fine on the old card still, but with this one you cant even get text to display right, I'd just RMA the thing and get a new one.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 01-22-2003, 07:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 5
Default

RMA??? return to sender?

yeah, the monitor and old card both work fine, as that is what I am using right now.

damn.

so what's RMA mean?
furious_guru is offline  
Old 01-22-2003, 07:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

Return Merchandise Authorization.

They send you a box to ship it back to them in, this way you dont have to pay shipping again.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 01-22-2003, 07:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 5
Default

oh, well thank you very much for your help. Truly appreciated. And thank you for your time.

furious_guru is offline  
Old 01-22-2003, 07:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

no problem bud, sorry about your bad luck with the card though..

__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 01-22-2003, 11:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

a bit late here, but did you check with Tyan to make sure that there are no incompatibilities with the card to the mobo?
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 01-22-2003, 11:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 5
Default

no i didn't, but i figured since the card says it is compatibl with NE mother board, that wasn't neccessary. I'll try though, thanx.
__________________

furious_guru is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.