my friends old computer... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2005, 03:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Exclamation my friends old computer...

well, i am currently trying to work on my friends old computer the system specs are:

Made in 1995
Pentium 1 120 MHz
64 MB SDRAM
1.1 GB HD
3.0 GB HD

I removed Windows 95 and tryed to upgrade to windows 98 using the boot floppy but the floppy drive fails after awhile and doesnt want to respond.

If you know anything about old computers and would like to help, please reply A.S.A.P.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 08-24-2005, 03:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

No offense, but it's REALLY not worth fixing.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-24-2005, 04:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

well i know, its not worth fixing. Its just that my friend keeps asking me to and its a challenge so any help is greatly appreciatead
talldude123 is offline  
Old 08-24-2005, 05:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Well first things first, if you think it's drive, why not swap out the floppy drive from your machine and put it in his and then try again?
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-24-2005, 06:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

why dont you just try a different floppy drive, it could also be the floppy disk maybe...?
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 10:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

thanks for the help, i actually have a spare floppy for parts that i will try, i never thought of using a different floppy.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 08-29-2005, 06:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

put 95 back on it. and replace the floppy maybe.
__________________

__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.