My Friend Needs Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2004, 10:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 95
Default My Friend Needs Help

Ok my friend is hjaving problems with his comp. Whenm he turns it on it says check signal...so he went to his tower and made sure everything was plugged in correctly and it all was....and nothing was loose.....so he restarted it and the same message came up: check signal. So then he hought well it might be the monitor...so he went and got his sisters monitor and the same thing happened. Do you guys think it's the video card??...that's what im thinkin.
__________________

BRUCEG is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 11:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

well usually it wont show anything . I see the check signal error on the monitor when the monitor is unplugged from the video card. Are you sure the system is powering up or is it shutting back down after you start .
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 11:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Does he have a video card that requires an extra molex? If that were to be unplugged than the computer would not boot up.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 12:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

video card definately

see its properly sitted in AGp/PCI-E slot
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 12:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the BIOS should beep once to say "everything is okay"
if the system does beep once, the video card is fine. try a different monitor cable, and if it works, you know what the problem was

if it beeps more than once, or not at all, something is wrong with the PC, and it may not be the video card
listen to the beeps (if there are any) and write it down somewhere - it might be long, short, short, long or something different.
then try and find the error code in your motherboard manual and see what it means
if it doesn't beep, usually something is not put in properly, or the BIOs may be faulty
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 01:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 180
Default

yup check that it is fitted in the agp slot properly
psydesign is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 05:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

Check the pins on the video card/monitor cable. No signal means exactly that. remove the card from its slot and then put it back in.
__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 06:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 95
Default

damn...it must be the video card...we unplugged the card and put it back in....and still the same thing :-(
__________________
Alienware
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
6800GT graphics card
200 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
1 Gig of Corsair Ram
BRUCEG is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 07:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 59
Default

That doesn't prove it's the video card. The motherboard may be fried in a strange way, or it could be a couple of other things. Have you not got another video card to test with?
Smauler is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 07:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 95
Default

no he doesn't
__________________

__________________
Alienware
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
6800GT graphics card
200 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
1 Gig of Corsair Ram
BRUCEG is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.