My First New Pc..Please Help Me - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2004, 03:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to sixpacgenius Send a message via Yahoo to sixpacgenius
Default My First New Pc..Please Help Me

Hey guys, this is my first time posting here . Ok, hers my dilema, im planning to build my very first pc very soon. OK!

Case: Diablo ATX Mid-Tower Case with 450Watt Power Supply, Front Neon Lights, Front USB and Audio

Motherboard and CPU: Chaintech VNF3-250 Socket 754 ATX Motherboard and AMD Athlon 64 2800+ Processor

Hardrive: Seagate 160GB 7200RPM IDE Hard Drive, Model ST3160021A, OEM Drive Only

Memory: Kingston 184 Pin 512MB DDR PC-3200 - Retail

DVD and CD Drive: BenQ DW1620 / 16x4x16x DVD±RW / 2.4x DVD+R DL / 40x24x40x CD-RW / Black / Sonic

Sound Card: Creative Labs SoundBlaster 16 PCI Sound Card

Floppy Drive: Sony 1.44 MB Floppy Disk Drive

Video Card: Please help me find a ATI Radeon PRO for the cheapest price

Operating System" Probablly Windows XP Home

Mouse and Keyboard: Ill Just buy them from my local Radio Shack

Cooling: Ill Buy fans, please help look for cheap fans.


Basically I want you guys to look over my parts and see if they are all compatiable, also if you can find the parts for cheaper please tell me.

Thanks in advance
__________________

sixpacgenius is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 04:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 168
Send a message via Yahoo to millerhighlife_
Default

Hmm.. Guess you are on a strict budget ? What is it ? I would highly recommend using socket 939 over 754. Better performance and you will be able to upgrade it in the future. A good card for a budget system would be a Radeon 9600XT. Check pricewatch.com if you really wanna save some dough. If you can though, use newegg or zipzoomfly. Both are great. Since this is a budget rig i'm guessing, drop the 160GB HDD. Get a 80GB for now and upgrade later if needed. Nice burner, never heard that name brand but sounds nice. Maybe it's just me but I would recommend getting a second drive that's not a burner. A rom drive for either dvd or cd or both. They tend to read faster than the all in one deals and you would be able to copy other cd/dvd's easier with 2 drives. Other than that looks good.

Edit: Oh yea ! I almost forgot, Welcome to the Forums !
__________________

__________________
P4 2.4Ghz for sale $75
Radeon 9800pro for sale $100
----------------------------------
My New Rig - Soon to be Oc\'ed
----------------------------------
Raidmax Case w/ Crappy 420w Psu
AMD64 3200+ Winchester
eVGA 6800 GT 256mb GDDR3
MSI K8N Neo2 Platnium
512 x 2 Corsair XMS-3200 Xtreme
Thermaltake Silent Boost CPU Fan
80GB 7,200rpm 8mb cache SATA HDD
Logitech Z-5300 THX Certified 5.1
------------------------------
3dmark05 - 5,110
3dmark03 - 11,119
Aquamark3 - 64,745
millerhighlife_ is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 04:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

I'd say a 9600 Pro or XT would be appropriate..... Pro's go for around $125 and XT's $150 or under on newegg
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 04:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to sixpacgenius Send a message via Yahoo to sixpacgenius
Default

my budget is aruond 900 to 1000


i already have the moniroer
sixpacgenius is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 04:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default

I'm pretty sure you can do better than that for $1000. Look at the thread I posted, "I finally made up my mind."
That's what my new computer is going to look like and I'm quite sure it'll perform better than the one you are trying to build.
persianxballer is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 09:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to sixpacgenius Send a message via Yahoo to sixpacgenius
Default

bump
sixpacgenius is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 10:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I would get an Athlon 64 3200+ winchester CPU

with an Abit AV8 3rd eye

and for yer video card: a 6600 GT in AGP
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 01:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 54
Default

for less than 1000--as follows:
AMD 64 3400+ 939 Socket Pro.
ABIT mobo socket 939 w/ via chipset
4 case fans w/ blue led's by powmax
200 gig seagate barracuda @ 7200.8 RPM
Arctic cooling heatsink
eVGA nVidia 5700LE 256 MB Graphics card
Combo CD R/RW Drive
Sony Floppy
500 Watt Power supply Ultra that came w/ case
Corsair XMS Series 1x512 MB 184 Pin RAM
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
nVidia 5700 LE 256 MB
512 MB Corsair XMS Series
bigdawgjts2663 is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 01:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 54
Default

I would go ahead and spend a little more now and get a AMD 64 3500+ for a little more money
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
nVidia 5700 LE 256 MB
512 MB Corsair XMS Series
bigdawgjts2663 is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 04:15 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

You cant get a 3400+ for socket 939 only the 3500+ which is the exact same thing but for socket 939.
Also i suggest you stay away from the nVidia 5700LE and get a bit more better card like a 9600XT or 9800Pro or even a 6600GT.

Neosteve
__________________

__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.