my first comp build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2005, 12:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 91
Default my first comp build

alright guys i need a computer when i go to college, i plan on using it for watching dvds, dl'ing music, and playing games like WoW / HL2 / Star Wars Galaxy.....i need a computer that can do all this stuff well, i dont want a comp that will lag when i play HL2 with all the graphics turned up...i wanna be able to play it on high quality with little to no lag...i got some parts picked out...

plz give me some input as to where i might be going wrong or if i need to switch parts but if you do plz back up your choices with good reasons...

heres what i got...

VIDEO CARD - eVGA 128-P2-N368-TX Geforce 6600GT 128MB GDDR3 PCI-Express x16 Video Card - Retail

MOBO - DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

CPU - AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice Integrated into Chip FSB Socket 939 Processor Model ADA3200BPBOX - Retail

RAM - TwinMOS 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered System Memory Model TMII400/1GB - OEM

POWER SUPPLY - OCZ ModStream OCZ45012U ATX 450W Power Supply - Retail

CASE - A-TOP XBlade AT859A-BL Blue/Silver Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 450W Power Supply - Retail

HARD DRIVE - Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 SATA NCQ ST3120827AS 120GB 7200 RPM Serial ATA150 Hard Drive - OEM

KEYBOARD - Logitech Ultra X 967353-0403 PS/2 Standard Keyboard - OEM

MONITOR - acer AL1715smd Silver/Black 17" 12ms LCD Monitor - Retail

MOUSE - Logitech MX518 931352-0403 2-Tone 8 Buttons 1x Wheel USB + PS/2 Optical Mouse - Retail

DVD BURNER - NEC Black IDE DVD Burner Model ND-3520A - OEM

SPEAKERS - Logitech X-530 70 Watts 5.1 Speaker - Retail

OS - Microsoft Windows XP HOME Edition With Service Pack 2 - OEM
(should i get XP or ME??? reasons???)


P.S. I dont want to spend more than around $1300 on it including everything
P.S.S. If you tell me to get something new, make sure it fits with the rest of my parts...
__________________

crazyeightballa is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 01:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

I do not see ONE THING wrong with everything you listed. Those should be great to play HL2 on and such.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 01:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to Slayer
Default

definately get windows xp not me. although they are both nt based, me is almost like a testing platform to build xp off of. it is more stable than me (if any microsoft software could be called stable). If you are good with having a firewall and anti virus and anti spywere software then don't get service pack 2. If you don't have a firewall then get service pack 2 (can be downloaded)

also i would suggest buying just a cd key instead of the whole retail box, its a lot cheaper. This is assuming you can get a xp cd from someone (THIS IS NOT ILLIGAL IF YOU BUY YOUR OWN CD KEY!!) try checking pricewatch thats where i bought a windows xp pro key for under 50 bux.

other than that hardware looks good. not sure what mobo that is but i might suggest getting one that supports sli, so you can add extra graphics power later on if you need it.
__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/0/slayer924.png
Intel P4 @ 2.0 Ghz 400fsb
512mb Corsair XMS dual channel ddr400
Radeon 9800 XT 256mb
40 & 60 gig wd hd\'s
Audigy 2 ZS THX
Logitech 5.1 280watts rms sound THX
Slayer is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 01:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default

Yea, i would get XP, i have had ME for awhile but i have noticed alot of incompatability with the newer programs...for some reason it just never worked with me..
__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 01:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default

Get XP Professional... way better than Home.
__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD¬ĪR/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 02:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

why would anyone consider windows ME? that's like windows 1998

definitely get xp home, pro is unneeded

also, there's nothing wrong with your build

however, if you plan on upgrading to a better video card in the future but use it on this system, i suggest you bump that power supply up to an OCZ powerstream 520W

but other than that everything is great
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 02:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Great setup, nothing wrong with it.

Quote:
Originally posted by mousepad
Get XP Professional... way better than Home.
people say that Pro is better for networking, but in my house we have a network with 6 comps hooked up to it, and never had any problems.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 12:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 91
Default

do you think ill need to upgrade my video card anytime soon and ill need the 520W?

also can someone check if the GDDR3 memory on my vid card is compatible with everything else...i dont know much about memory on vid cards...thx
__________________
DFI Lanparty nF4 Ultra-D
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice
Leadtek 6600GT
Seagate Barracuda 120GB
OCZ El Platinum Rev2 1 GB
OCZ ModStream 450 W PSU
crazyeightballa is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 12:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 40
Default

ME kills computers get xp pro
The Dark Lord is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 02:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

yes, don't worry, everything is compatible

and like i said, if you're going to upgrade the gfx on this machine, get an OCZ powerstream 520 or more, if not, get an OCZ modstream
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.