My first ALIENWARE. Overkill? Maybe. Advice? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2005, 08:31 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Yea that would be nice for him especially that is his company Information.
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 08:34 PM   #22 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Screw the SATA raid, and get a SCSI raid two of these bad boys will put any other SATA raid config in the ground *DEEP into the ground*
The SCSI raid is a little bit more money but it will give you 8x better performance.
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...116-150&depa=1

Now all you need is a decent SCSI controller with raid support.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 08:43 PM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Yeah. if you have $$ to burn, going with 10K rpm drives are definitely better. And if you have even "more" $$ to burn, go with 15K rpm drives . That'll be even more better.. It all comes down to purformance vs storage. If you go via the 15K route, you'll spend quite a pretty penny (and I mean a very shiny golden penny). And unless u are running is database server, is probably not justified.

For the same amount of storage as ur 7200rpm drive, if you go via the 10K rpm route, you'll easily spend 3-4 times the amount on the 10K drives.

As I said before, if you can post a list of ur apps, I think ppl can help u better.

I've known ppl who've spent > $3000 on harddrives alone for a single computer. I am sure u don't want to go via that route ..
Chankama is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 09:01 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Yea those 15k are a tad pricey. $234 for 36gb of storage, ouch.
Do you need a really special motherboard for SCSI RAID? Or would any mobo that supports standarn SATA RAID also support SCSI?
Because I don't see any mobo's on newegg thast say they specifically support SCSI.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 09:07 PM   #25 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

That is why you need a SCSI controller that supports RAID. And you want a decent one too!
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 10:25 PM   #26 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dale5605
Yea those 15k are a tad pricey. $234 for 36gb of storage, ouch.
Do you need a really special motherboard for SCSI RAID? Or would any mobo that supports standarn SATA RAID also support SCSI?
Because I don't see any mobo's on newegg thast say they specifically support SCSI.
SCSI is Another connector

You could use a paralell port to SCSI adapter like me, SPEED DEMON. Too bad the paralell port is only like 4 meg :/
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 10:42 PM   #27 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Default

Guys i dont think money is a problem and you dont see much of a speed increase between 10000 and 7200 except during start up speeds. And since he IS getting the top of the line CPU from either Intel or AMD its gonna be fast no matter what. the damn computer will have his program up before he even thinks it, it will be spo fast. Dude what you got on that Alienware will last you a damn long time and it will be good enough to run anything AMD or Intel. Both processors are great in the top range so it really dosent matter. BTW w/ AMD over Intel please dont ask again, just make your own choice because it will get a war started. figured i would say.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 04-03-2005, 11:17 PM   #28 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

You might not see a difference in startup times but you will see a huge jump in performance in opening programs and other stuff. My old workstation SCSI HD has a faster random seek time than most high end new computers out today that use IDE and SATA. Imagine what newer SCSI drives can offer.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 11:21 PM   #29 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Default

i still dont see why they are bringing back old technology. that would be like trying to beef up a pentium1 lol.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 04-03-2005, 11:28 PM   #30 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

What do you mean bring back?? SCSI has always has been the fastest HD. Its like saying why are they bringing back SLI, that technology has been around for a while too.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.