my ethernet card does not work - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2004, 11:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15
Default my ethernet card does not work

hello everybody
my ethernet adapter does not work,
last weak i bought a card but when i setup it i found my pc can't start,and the warning beep is always long just like the memery can't work!
anybody meet this things?

sharp is offline  
Old 03-30-2004, 11:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 79

Unplug the card and see if it will start. If it does start, shut down again and install it in a different slot. Could be IRQ conflicts.

Target is offline  
Old 03-31-2004, 03:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 64

If your comp doesn't work anymore even without the nic (as per Target's suggestion), you might actually want to check your memory... maybe you unseated it or (heaven forbid!) unleashed some ESD and fried it while installing the nic.

Read the card's manual... if your IRQ settings are wrong it could be a misplaced jumper.

Try another slot, like Target said. If that doesn't work, try putting another device in there (such as a PCI video card or modem... assuming of course it is PCI) and see if it works. If other devices work, just take the nic back to the shop and get a replacement.

Otherwise, your PCI bus could be fux0rd, in which case a new motherboard would be the only solution.
diggerB is offline  
Old 03-31-2004, 04:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15

What is the operating system are you using?
And do you have any sound cards in your computer?
Have you tried this network card in another computer?
digital_dreamer is offline  
Old 03-31-2004, 05:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15

sound card
is onboard
and i think itis not the os`s matter because the os hasnot start
and i have changed a new card .
doesnot work

perhaps it's the mainboard`s matter!
i 'll try to change a memery and tell u.
thanx all
sharp is offline  
Old 03-31-2004, 05:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii

so your computer hasn't work since you put the nic in? but it did work before right?
Demalii is offline  
Old 03-31-2004, 05:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15

Sounds like the network card is DOA if the computer works with out it.

Get another network card.

digital_dreamer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.