my doa mobo from last year. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2009, 01:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default my doa mobo from last year.

last year around this time, i built this pc im using now.
i have added a few upgrades here and there since.

but when i was ordering my parts for my first raw build, i recieved a doa motherboard. @ this time i was so new to the pc building world, i didnt think that i could get a refund or exchange or rma this board. so i took it as a loss.

im posting here today, to get some ideas on what may be wrong with the board.

if i can remember correctly, ill give you what happned or what didnt happen.

board was:
eVGA 590 SLI 122-M2-NF59-TR

after installing all the hardware and triple checking all the connections i just could not get a post. i remember one of the code lights blinking orange.
this board has a digital or whatnot code display aswell on the board. but no number showed up, but the led's did light up. (unless the code was actually 88, but those odds are high)

so i just uninstalled all the hardware and reordered another board, this m2n-e
no problem to get this board to post. 1st try actually.

i am aware that there is a high chance that anyone here or anywhere can pin point the problem, or how to fix it without actually looking at the board.
the reason im asking, is im selling it for a lil extra change, and was wondering if there was any hope of actually gettin this board to work before selling it as a salvage board.

thanks much.
any help or comments would be very helpful.
__________________

__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 01:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: my doa mobo from last year.

did you register it with evga? it has a 2 year warranty i believe.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 01:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: my doa mobo from last year.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nagasama View Post
did you register it with evga? it has a 2 year warranty i believe.
i sure didnt, its too late now lol

i have bidders on it so it will be sold like it is, no worries tho.
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it mobo or cpu? Crazy658 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-09-2008 05:07 AM
new mobo Squirtis New Systems | Building and Buying 2 11-14-2008 02:24 PM
Mobo install is a nightmare so far...help? Chad711 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 11-05-2008 12:44 AM
Mobo install is a nightmare so far...help? Chad711 New Systems | Building and Buying 0 11-04-2008 02:37 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.