my cpu - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2005, 02:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 169
Default my cpu

im looking to upgrade my current graphics card to the monster nvidia 6800 ultra but my current processor is an AMD athlon XP 3000+ will it be alright to run say doom 3 on highest everything and still be smooth?
__________________

__________________
coming soon

x blade case
antec true power 550 watt power supply
amd x2 dual core 4400+
1 gig ddr400 memory
gigabyte 4x dual layer drive
nvidia 7800 gtx 512mb
gigabyte k8n pro sli motherboard
1 western digital 10,000rpm 74gb hard drive
1 western digital 320gb hard drive
devil_warrior is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 02:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

you might want to add another 512mb in there but it'll be fairly smooth, mind you at Ultra specs (doom3 Ultra settings) it still might lag when opening doors and such.

I have an XP-Mobile at 2.5GHz 1gb of RAM and a 6800GT clocked at 430/1150 and with it at Ultra settings, 1280x1024 resolution and 2x AA it'll lag when opening doors.

A 6800Ultra is stock 400/1000 so you know what I'm comparing my card to
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 02:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 169
Default

ok how bad with the lag at doors?
__________________
coming soon

x blade case
antec true power 550 watt power supply
amd x2 dual core 4400+
1 gig ddr400 memory
gigabyte 4x dual layer drive
nvidia 7800 gtx 512mb
gigabyte k8n pro sli motherboard
1 western digital 10,000rpm 74gb hard drive
1 western digital 320gb hard drive
devil_warrior is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 03:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

nubius - wont that lag go away though if you just diable AA? Do you play with Vsync enabled??

and if you could post what fps you get in 'Timedemo demo1 1' on (High, 1280x, 0xAA, 8xAF). im curiouse to see how much more fps you setup gets then a system i recently tested(below)
---------------------------------------

devil_warrior - i recently tested a system (xp3000 400fsb, 1gb ram, 6600gt)

but i started out with 512ddr ram originally, and with 512ram i noticed some loading pausess in Halflife2 and Doom3, sorta like what nubius mentioned, but it doesnt happen at all doors(prolly same for him)

with 1gb of ddr ram, i noticed some of the pauses went away completely and others were less noticable.... so you may be better off getting a 6800gt + another 512ddr stick of ram.

unless you can aford the ram and the ultra i guess.

when i ran Doom3 'Timedemo demo1 1' on that system i got...
High, 1280x, 0xAA, 8xAF = 51.3fps

every level of lower resolution i put it, im was able to add 2xAA and it goes same of faster... example -
High, 1048x786, 2xAA, 8xAF = 53.4fps

Halflife was easyer to run at Highest settings,1280x 2xAA, 8xAF

Note- this is always with Vsync OFF
jolancer is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 03:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
and if you could post what fps you get in 'Timedemo demo1 1' on (High, 1280x, 0xAA, 8xAF). im curiouse to see how much more fps you setup gets then a system i recently tested(below)
No I dont run it with Vsync and yeah it probably would go away with no AA or if I simply knocked it to high settings.....anywho you say high settings then 8x AF......Ultra specs = 8x AF in that game..

Ultra Settings, 2x AA and 1280x1024 I get 49FPS in the time demo

I'll run it at high settings but high settings = 6x AF, I'm pretty sure with that I'll get like 60+ fps. I'll post back here in a few

EDIT: High settings, 0AA, 1280x1024 = 70.5FPS
High settings, 2xAA, 1024x768 = 70.8FPS


not a huge difference between the two for me...you got 3 FPS difference I got .3
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 03:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

i dont know witch version of Doom3 i was using to test, but i cant update it

im not shur if later versions havea AF option, but the only way for me to change it or check it was to use the cmd 'image_anisotropy' ...and on High settings that was always set to 8 by default for me.

Thx for the info though, i was just curiouse what kinda performance comparison there was between ~68gt and 66gt on the XP.

EDIT: i think 49fps was what i got at (ultra, 0xAA, 1024x) any higher and my fps would crap out.
jolancer is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 03:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

well I can't update mine either so we're in the same boat

I've never used that command before, but as far as I'm aware of high settings = 6x af, ultra settings = 8x af, and things below that don't really concern me
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 05:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

high is 8xAF... AF prolly doesnt go up in incroments for diff settings. just the texture compression/resolution.
jolancer is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 05:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

oh wow you're right dude, high settings is 8x AF, freakin Ultra is 16x!

http://forums.pimprig.com/showthread.php?t=20181&page=1

check out their contest they had there, I could have sworn it went 8x for ultra then 6x for High settings, yeesh, didn't realise it was 16x lol
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 09:59 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

WOAH!!! Those graphics look so real!!
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.