My computer is frustrating. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2004, 10:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 261
Send a message via Yahoo to mre30
Default

I would check and see how hot your cpu is getting
__________________

mre30 is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 10:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

unplug a few unneccesary devices to make sure there's enough power

how many watts is your powwer suply?
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 10:54 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

ok, run ur pc as a barebone. with gfx card, mobo, monitor mouse n keyboard. take out any modems, pci cards, take it all out. c how long itl run like that

also download spybot search and destroy, and get spyblaster.

get avast antivirus also

u might wana reinstall windows also
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 11:54 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Cool "Dude, you're going to HELL'P..."

Here's an idea:

Open the Control Panels folder, open the System control panel, then ckick on the Device Manager tab. Then do the following:



After you do that, click on the Diagnostics button, and run the tests:



That should help a little.
__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 09:00 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to ben2the4th Send a message via Yahoo to ben2the4th
Default

I tryed everything and its still shutting down. I have spybot search and destroy, i did the fan thing, and i tried changing options. My computer has an ATi Radeon 9800 and the power is at 115v? I guess......
ben2the4th is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 09:02 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to ben2the4th Send a message via Yahoo to ben2the4th
Default

My temperature display says that everything is running at around 93 degrees.
ben2the4th is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 09:07 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to ben2the4th Send a message via Yahoo to ben2the4th
Default

I have Windows XP with service pack 2, AMD athlon 3200+, 2.19 GHZ, 512 MB of RAM.
ben2the4th is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 09:19 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default

Maybe you're past on cpu is burned out?...... Change that... it's cheap but necessary. The reason I say this is because my comp was restarting too.... and I just put some new thermal paste on and it solve problem. How much power is your psu?
__________________
(\'.\') Q(\'\'Q) (\'.\'(O=(\'\'Q) (*.*) t(\"t )
wongb18c is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 09:21 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to ben2the4th Send a message via Yahoo to ben2the4th
Default

How would I figure that out? Lol I'm dumb with this stuff.
ben2the4th is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 09:24 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Exclamation "the roof is on fire..."

Quote:
Originally posted by ben2the4th
My temperature display says that everything is running at around 93 degrees.
That's too Hot!! Thou must buyest fans, and cooling devices lest thou computer explodeth into many fine pieces!! ...... ........... .........
__________________

__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.