my computer is broken - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2004, 10:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Unhappy my computer is broken

okay, last ditch effort before I kill my computer or myself

I guess I should start from the beginning (warning long story):

Six weeks ago I am playing counterstrike and my computer suddenly shuts off and will not start back up. When I try to turn it on again the CPU fan rotates 2-3 times and the computer shuts off. After a long process of putting my computer parts into my friends computer and visa-versa I discovered that my motherboard was broken, but the rest of my hardware was still working.

So, I go to CompUSA to get a replacement motherboard. I buy the mobo, and when I get home I discover that it doesn't support SATA (which my hard drives were). But, I find an old hard drive and decide to put the computer together anyway. Everything is hooked up and works fine! awesome!

**NOTE** one thing to remember is that the only different pieces of hardware right now are the CompUSA mobo and Hard Drive **NOTE**

So, because I bought the wrong mobo, I decide to RMA my broken one, and return the CompUSA mobo. When I get the RMA'd mobo back in the mail, I hook everything together and try to turn it on. The CPU fans rotate 2-3 times and the computer shuts off, same as when it originally died. Without I quickly come to the conclusion that the RMA'd motherboard was somehow faulty. Then, I decide to buy a brand new motherboard (same brand/type as the RMA'd one... but new out of the box) and when I hook up the brand new motherboard, I get the same results as before (CPU fan rotates 2-3 times, computer dies).

Okay, thoroughly confused. But the confusion doesn't end there!

Trying to assess the problem now, I decide to once again switch out my computer parts with my friends. My ram is good, my Vid card is good. When I tried to put my CPU into his computer, I got the same results (CPU fan rotates 2-3 times, computer dies).

This should have been enough to convince me that my CPU was bad and I bought a brand new mobo for no reason, but when we tried to put his CPU into my computer, CPU fan rotates 2-3 times, computer dies. The CPU's are almost identical, same brand and FSB, and they are compatible with the motherboards.

I am really leaning towards a dead CPU, but because my friend's CPU didn't work in my computer (and also because now I will be getting charged a 15% restocking fee for the brand new, and maybe unnecessary, motherbaord) I want to be cautious. ALSO, remember the **NOTE** about my computer working fine when I used the compUSA mobo?!?! ehh?!?! yeah... confusing.

Other things I have done:
-reset jumpers
-took out battery
-tried different power supply
-set up the computer out of the case
-tried a new monitor

Is there anything I am missing? Is it possible that between the time where I returned the CompUSA mobo and the RMA'd mobo that my processor fried?

I need some guidance, is there anything that I haven't tried that I should?

CPU: AMD 3000 XP "barton"
Mobo: MSI k7n2 delta
RAM: 2x 256 geil pc 3200
Vid Card: ATI 9700 Pro
Power Supply: 350 Watt

***EDIT TO THE ORIGINAL***
incase anyone was wondering, there were no mobo beeps
__________________

PeeDeezy is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 10:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

Could be that your fan is bad. If its not working properly it'll shut off causing your cpu to overheat which will cause your pc to shut itself off. I would think it was that or the psu, which you said you already switched...
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 10:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Nnnnnnn, I don't think that it is the fan bobo, 'cause the whole comp shuts off. One fan couldn't do that...could it?

PeeDeezy, what kind of mobo does your friend have?
Regulus is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 10:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

If your cpu is over heating it could cause the computer to shut off. It's happened to me many times. Also some mobos have a feature where if your temp goes up to high, it'll automatically shut the pc down. Plus its really the only thing he hasnt checked. Or so it seems.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 11:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Hmmmmmmmm. This is stranger than my current mishap. It could be that it's overheating...or maybe, if his friend's mobo is the same...there could be something between the CPU and mobo?
Regulus is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 11:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Default

-bobo, that is something to think about, I will try that tomorrow when I have a little more energy, and I will post my results

-regulus, my friends motherboard is an asus-a7v8x

-regulus, I don't know if it could be anything between the CPU and mobo, because my computer was working fine for 1 year prior to the breakdown. They are compatible, if that is what you were wondering.
PeeDeezy is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 11:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter
Default

try a new fan/heatsink when i couldnt get my heatsink fully clipped in my computer wouldnt start because my mobo has an auto shutoff feature. oh, MAKE SURE U HAVE THERMAL PASTE
__________________
YourPrinter is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 12:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504
Default

It sounds like a power supply issue, but you said you checked that so it must be the cpu overheating or something. Go with the other guys and make sure that your cpu has a good connection with the heat sink by using thermal paste.
__________________
<img src = \"http://filebox.vt.edu/users/chuck527/My%20Work/Sig.jpg\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 01:38 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to sethduncan Send a message via Yahoo to sethduncan
Default

Yeah, those chips heat up REAL fast. They'll shut down the pc in a hurry without thermal paste or a solidly seated heatsink
sethduncan is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 02:45 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

possibly one of the screws is coming into contact with the circuitry on the motherboard, try taking the screws out, turning it on and seeing what happens
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.