My Comp Will NOT turn on!!! - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2004, 06:27 PM   #51 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

can u hear ur HD's spinning?
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 06:32 PM   #52 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
Default

No, everything is just completly silent. I press the on the power button and it doesnt come on. Just the power LED comes on and is constantly on, thats the only sign of life I'm getting on the my PC.
__________________

NanoWarrior is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 06:33 PM   #53 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

so you took EVERYTHING off to get some characters? Well, the last thing I could say to try is checking to see if the MBD is grounding to the case. Have you tried taking out the vid card and then reseating it? Also, is there intergrated graphics? Even thought should auto disable, if it doesnt and you do have intergrated, remove the vid card, plug into the intergrated slot, go into bios, change the setting to AGP, shut down and reseat the vid card. Otherwise, sounds like a bad MBD to me.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 06:37 PM   #54 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by killians45
so you took EVERYTHING off to get some characters? Well, the last thing I could say to try is checking to see if the MBD is grounding to the case. Otherwise, sounds like a bad MBD to me.
I tried taking every thing off, but like I siad I get no sign of life excapt the power LED. We took every thing off except the vid card and we left one stick of ram in and we left in the power cables.
NanoWarrior is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 06:45 PM   #55 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

try jumping to clear nvram. although the battery should of done this, MAYBE this will, also. A few things to do. First, find the jumper on the MBD that says either "Reset Config Data" or "Clear NVRAM". It should have a number or two. like 1,2. That means take the tiny cap and position it over what numbers it says. Boot the system. HOPEFULLY you should see something like "CMOS/BIOS/NVRAM cleared by jumper." If it does, GOOD! We're in business. Just put the jumper to its original set (probably the pins for nomral) and reboot. Should prompt you to enter bios. Check it and save settings. If this DOESN'T work, the only thing else I can say is remove the MBD from the case and set it on something anti static careful of ESD (static charge). Have the bare essentials plugged in (HDD, CPU, memory, vid card) and turn it on. I know its a pain, but this should cover everything. If you STILL get nothing the MBD is probably shot and MAYBE the CPU (doubt the memory because you've tried each individually, but could be). Go for the MBD first, its cheaper and if the CPU is shot, more than likely something got to the MBD first. If it DOES turn on outside the case you have a grounding problem. Probably the screws holding the MBD in the case are touching the etchings and the case shorting it out via ground. To fix that, just get some plastic clips to fit the screws into.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 06:54 PM   #56 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
Default

I see Cmose jumper on my mother board that Im also see in my booklet that I can clear the configuration data, but there pins. How can I mess with pins?

EDIT NeverMind I found the cap I'll see what happends
NanoWarrior is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 07:02 PM   #57 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 120
Send a message via AIM to DaShizNit609 Send a message via Yahoo to DaShizNit609
Default

earlier you said you were donig stuff in the bios and when u restarted nothin worked.. what did you do in the bios?
DaShizNit609 is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 07:04 PM   #58 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

he reset to default save settings
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 07:05 PM   #59 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
Default

The first idea with the jumper isen't working. I'll give the Grounding idea a try

EDIT: Yes save default setting sis what I did
NanoWarrior is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 07:06 PM   #60 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 120
Send a message via AIM to DaShizNit609 Send a message via Yahoo to DaShizNit609
Default

oh... ive been gone for some time now :-)
__________________

__________________
AMD XP 3000+ @2.47 Ghz
ATI 9600 Pro soon to be 6800 GT
1GB corsair VS 3200
520 Watt aspire PSU
Sound Blaster Audigy 2
2x 80 gb WD standard 7200 rpm
2x 120 gb WD standard 7200 rpm
14.4k modem (seriously)
5x 80mm fans
DaShizNit609 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.