My clicking hard drive... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2004, 08:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default My clicking hard drive...

Alright I've had this 80g WD hard drive for hardly 9 months, I woke up to the sound of "click, spin... click, spin" where the spin was like when the disk started up from a complete stop. So i restarted my pc and it did it a few more times, now everything seems to be fine. Sounds to me like the hard drive is going bad? Or could it have been something on the hard drive? Anyways, I'm taking no time at all in contacting newegg to get me another hard drive hehe and send this bad boy back..
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Old 05-20-2004, 09:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

That doesn't surprise me, I bought a WD80 GB drive and within months that sucker crashed on me.

I checked WD's site to see if its still under warranty and it was so I returned it and got a refurbished one.

The crazy part was, a few months after that.. the NEW one failed on me too... needless to say I was upset, I re-sent the drive and a week later I get a new drive from WD.

If the your drive is still under warranty, you will probably have to go through WD in getting it replaced.

You can check to see if your drive is in warranty here
__________________

HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 05-20-2004, 11:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HoLoCroN
That doesn't surprise me, I bought a WD80 GB drive and within months that sucker crashed on me.

I checked WD's site to see if its still under warranty and it was so I returned it and got a refurbished one.

The crazy part was, a few months after that.. the NEW one failed on me too... needless to say I was upset, I re-sent the drive and a week later I get a new drive from WD.

If the your drive is still under warranty, you will probably have to go through WD in getting it replaced.

You can check to see if your drive is in warranty here
Well you know my stance on WD. I don't like them because of what you both went through. I have been through it more times than I would have liked. WD hdd's are just short lived. I stand by maxtor.
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 05-20-2004, 04:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

Demalii have you backed up your hard disk data yet? if not back it up right NOW!....you know just in case it goes bad and you lose all that pr0n you have been downloading for the last few months. do not exchange for the exact same model. get the 120GB 8MB version instead... or better yet get a seagate
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 05-20-2004, 05:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

I agree with eksine on that one .. though the WD is defianately faster than the Seagate ... they are not as durable as the seagate .
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 05-20-2004, 07:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by preet2u
I agree with eksine on that one .. though the WD is defianately faster than the Seagate ... they are not as durable as the seagate .
Sygate has to produce the slowest hard drives you can buy.... Some fool tried to tell me he had a ATA 100 Sygate drive that had a 5.5 ms access time. He was dead convinced too.
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 05-21-2004, 11:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

shoot, i'm almost done downloading vol. 8, as soon as i finish that i'll backup lol... but newegg will send me another of this exact model, is there a way i can get a 120 through them? like pay the extra 20 bucks or whatever? hrm.. I thought WD was supposed to be good, I've used them since I was 11 and never had a problem till I built this back in oct. when I got my first 120g it was DOA, now my 80g is crapping out on me. I've heard seagate is good too, but if they're slower, I don't want to sacrifice speed ya know.. anyways
Demalii is offline  
Old 05-21-2004, 12:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Demalii
shoot, i'm almost done downloading vol. 8, as soon as i finish that i'll backup lol... but newegg will send me another of this exact model, is there a way i can get a 120 through them? like pay the extra 20 bucks or whatever? hrm.. I thought WD was supposed to be good, I've used them since I was 11 and never had a problem till I built this back in oct. when I got my first 120g it was DOA, now my 80g is crapping out on me. I've heard seagate is good too, but if they're slower, I don't want to sacrifice speed ya know.. anyways
Sygates have a slower access rate compared to the other brands. I think they are going for the slow and steady type of hdd. LOL, that's a statement you don't hear everyday: "I used them since I was 11".
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 05-21-2004, 01:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

well i mean i've used western digi since i've had my first computer.. and each one lasted me 3 or 4 years.. now i'm getting this crap, it's just depressing =( hehe
Demalii is offline  
Old 05-21-2004, 01:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

If your HD does decide to die before you back up all your info, I have a neet trick to help out.

Stick your hd in your fridge for an hour or two, then load it back in your system and grab as many files as you can ASAP.
__________________

__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.