my base unit sounds like a HELICOPTER - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2005, 07:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 46
Exclamation my base unit sounds like a HELICOPTER

I suppose to any 5 year olds reading this, it may sound *cool* but im not too keen on it. it's a AMD athlon 2100xp with 512 DDR ram. nearly 3 years old. Any ideas what this maybe. My computer also CONTINIOUSLY has faults and runs very slow. restarts itself and after a while COMPLETELY refuses to start!!! i've re-installed EVERYTHING and formatted the C drive more than once. Still no luck? any idea what the problem is? need more RAM maybe?

I thought it could be viruses but i have AVG and norton internet security and it is still happening?

Could it be a permenant hard disc problem??

Is it better to just upgrade (even all, motherboard, proccessor and RAM) than to buy a new base unit??

any help would be GREAT, thanks in advance
__________________

mbwest is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 07:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 133
Default

Don't waste money replacing everything, it more than likely to be your hard drive. 512Mb Ram is more than enough and your processor is pretty decent so its not going to be them.

As for the noise, its either your hard drive, case fans, or cpu fan. Open the case and clean all of your fans with a vacuum or an air gun but not a too powerful one.

But seriously mate, don't waste your money on components that dont need replacing, save it and buy a nice hard drive or case.
__________________

24/7 Gamer is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 09:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

So, how does it sound like a helicopter?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 10:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 46
Default

It hums REALLY loud, lol
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (939 pin)
Asus A8V deluxe
2x 512Mb PC3200 DDR Ram (400mhz)
64mb ddr ati radeon 8500le
80gb udma HD
Maxtor1touch 160gb ExtHD 7200rpm
Plextor 8x DVD+-RW
WinXP
mbwest is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 11:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

did u build or was prebuilt? u could open it up and check the positions of the fans and make sure they are rubbing on a wire for example, try listening to it closely with the side off see where most of the noise is comin from and thatll tell u
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 03:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 46
Default

prebuilt, it is on warranty so im sending it back for a week, really cant be bothered but was just curious, i have tried everything but now i just wanna send it back and get it fixed.
Also im quite new with all of this.
might try opening it, thanks for the tip.
It also seems to slow down a LOT when i install internet security, i have a feeling i may need m0re ram to have it running all the time as it is now.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (939 pin)
Asus A8V deluxe
2x 512Mb PC3200 DDR Ram (400mhz)
64mb ddr ati radeon 8500le
80gb udma HD
Maxtor1touch 160gb ExtHD 7200rpm
Plextor 8x DVD+-RW
WinXP
mbwest is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 04:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 530
Default

If its under warranty dont mess with it, be careful what you do. Lots of stupid things can void your warranty. My parents had a Vaio with the Best Buy warranty and they had that thing fixed and replaced so many times. THey just even got a new monitor for it. I upgraded it and was kinda scared, but they didnt seem to mind.
FoxyLoxy is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 04:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 530
Default

I am also now an "Ultra Techie", that means I'm really smart so whatever I say is true. Apparently I'm not quite as smart as folks like Nubius or ANd_You_Are.
FoxyLoxy is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 04:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

So am I, but I don't know everything that some people know.

Anyways...
Regulus is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 04:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default

helicopters r teh c00lz0r

nah, if under warrenty... get it checked by the company... it could either be your HD, A fan in your system or a CD drive... My CDRW makes a hell of a noise sometimes!!!

good luck, hope you get it sorted!
__________________

__________________
hygor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.