Multiple Monitors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2004, 08:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 133
Unhappy Multiple Monitors

Please can anyone help clear this up.....

I have a Sony-VAIO Laptop running XP Pro SP2 with ATI Rage Mobility Display Adapter. In the Settings for display properties it says (Multiple Monitors) and I have plugged in another monitor which duplicates the desktop, but I wish to stretch the desktop accross both the new monitor and the existing LCD. There only seems to be 1 monitor type shown. There is no identify tab or checkbox to "extend my windows desktop onto this monitor" Is my display adapter unable to do this - is it a driver issue or a windows setting - or shall I just give up now....

Appreciate Help.!!

duncan is offline  
Old 11-22-2004, 08:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

You said you can make it so that it simply duplicates your desktop but you can't find an option for stretching it right and not just no image at all coming up?

On my moms laptop I can acquire what you are looking for by right clicking on the desktop>Properties, click the settings tab, and then the Advanced button. From there you click the 'Displays' tab and it should show a power on and off button for the extra monitor and whatnot, make sure that it is indeed turned on and it's monitor 2. Now go back to the Settings tab and if that checkbox EXTEND MY WINDOWS DESKTOP is still not there, then try changing the pull down menu above it where it says "Displays" to "Multiple Monitors".

Sorry if I had a bad explination, but it's kinda hard without being there.

Nubius is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 07:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 133

I got it in the early hours ..... I didn't have all these settings that you mentioned, but I knew they should be there - this was basically the problem, as I was sure I had seen them before - it occured to me that the video drivers that came with xp pro that I had recently upgraded to may not be as good as the drivers that came with the original xp home cd for my laptop... I would have assumed that they would bve better ones, but they were not.. Anyway, 3am - installed old video drivers and Hey Presto - dual monitors.... Thanks for advice anyway.. Hope this helps anyone else with same prob..

duncan is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 04:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543

Yeah, it should thats what these forums are here for
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5

No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.