Multiple monitor same display? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2007, 01:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Default Multiple monitor same display?

I have an hp workstation with a video card with two DVI outputs. I need to view the video output simultaneously on two TFT monitors that have only DVI inputs. A suggested solution is to get a 1X2 DVI splitter. Is such a thing available in Delhi and where? What is the likely cost? Is there a liklihood of any signal loss on splitting? What will be the solution for that?
If it is necessary to know then one of the monitors will be approximately 3-4 mts from the cabinet.

For some peculiar requirement I wish to keep the monitor, keyboard and mouse approximately 8 - 10 mtrs from the cabinet. Wires need to be drawn as bluetooth, wifi are not the allowed solutions. What must I do?

Thanx in advance
__________________

techonova is offline  
Old 07-31-2007, 05:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Multiple monitor same display?

use both outputs from the video card with a standard dvi lcd monitor and clone the outputs..... you can do this either by the videocard software or my personal favourite using ultramon which is by far the best multi-mon app you can get the free trial which is 30days I think or acquire through less legal methods
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 11:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: Multiple monitor same display?

Thanx Salty
It worked like a dream!! U did set me on the right track. Ultramon and maxivista demo did not have the cloning/ mirror facility but tweaking videocard settings worked.

How about helping me with the next query?
I want to extend the standard 2 mtr keyboard and mouse cable to about 15 mtrs. What should I do?
techonova is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 11:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: Multiple monitor same display?

You can buy PS/2 extenders for that purpose. If they're USB, though, I'm not sure how long of an extender you'll be able to find.
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 12:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Multiple monitor same display?

if theyre usb, just get a usb hub and a 15ft cable.

if theyre ps2, get the above and a usb-ps2 converter
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 06:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Multiple monitor same display?

ultramon can clone I am doing it right now................... nvm though if you videocard standard software can there is obviously no issue.

why do you want to have two images displaying the same picture???

I would use a wireless keyboard for thos sort of distances as people tend to trip on cables if trailed along the floor
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 12:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: Multiple monitor same display?

Thanx Greg, BMX,
will try that and report back.

Salty,
something wrong with my downloaded copy of u'mon. Two monitors same image - one for an operator and the other on the larger screen for the presentation. Thanx for the assist.
__________________

techonova is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
World Display Wallpapers Osiris Web Graphics and Design 0 07-26-2007 07:53 AM
Catalyst 7.7 Display Drivers Osiris Overclocking and Modding 3 07-22-2007 04:02 PM
Triple monitors sans Xinerama? Greg Linux and Open Source 3 07-06-2007 01:55 PM
windows 2000 server display problem hiren Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 06-04-2007 01:31 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.