multiple hard drives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2004, 04:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 204
Send a message via AIM to Jerigorn Send a message via Yahoo to Jerigorn
Default multiple hard drives

When a computer has 2 or more hard drives, how does it decide where to put files. Also, does the computer take a large program, such as a game, and divide the files between the hard drives or put it all in the same.
__________________

__________________
*Notebook*
~Dell XPS M1710
~2.16Ghz Intel Core Duo T2600
~2048 MB DDR2 @ 667Mh
~7900 GTX 512
~Media Center
Jerigorn is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 04:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 325
Default

Unless you have set up a Raid array, the computer will put the files where you ask it to.
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeWill
Aquarius 2.... performs as well as urinating in your heatsink
LV38_Eagle is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 04:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default

I just recently installed another hard drive (a 80 gb seagate) along with my 120 Maxtor already installed. I kept the Maxtor as the master drive and set the seagate as the slave. I use the maxtor for my operating system and everything else, games, mp3s, movies, etc. on my Seagate. Just a way to keep things a little more organized I guess....
__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 04:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by LV38_Eagle
Unless you have set up a Raid array, the computer will put the files where you ask it to.
Just a little expansion on what LV30 said...

When you go into My Computer, you see all of your drives listed under Hard Disk Drives. By default, your OS information is stored on the C: drive. When you install a game, 99% of the time it will give you the option of where to install the game (meaning on what drive). You simply choose the drive that you want by replacing the C with the correct drive letter.

If you wanted a word file to be saved to a drive other than C:, you would follow the same process. When you save the file, you would choose a directory within another drive.
d14dsp1k3 is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 05:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 56
Send a message via AIM to xraider5
Default

basically, the two different hard drives are named differently.

if you have one hard drive, it is probably your "C" drive.
a second hard drive will most likely be "D"

when installing games, you tell it which drive to install it on
__________________
Current Specs:

Aspire X-Dreamer Case
Pentium 4 2.4C (considering overclocking)
Gigabyte GA-8S648FX-L Titan
Geforce4 MX440 128MB
1 512 PC2700 (1 Channel)
Pioneer PVR-108 16X DVD Burner (4x Dual Layer)
16X DVD Drive
160GB Maxtor ATA133 7200rpm
Windows XP Pro
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
Creative Inspire T2900 + Cambridge SW320 = 4.2 Speakers
Samsung 710N LCD Monitor

<b>Woohoo for Quietness!</b>
Seasonic Precise 340W (Ultra Quiet)
Zalman CNPS7000A-AlCu CPU Cooler
Aerocool Chameleon (20.3 dB)
Panasonic Panaflo (21 dB)
3.5 Nexus Fan Controller
xraider5 is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 09:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 118
Default

Can someone explain to me how raid works and what the benefits are of it? Thanks!
__________________
My new toy!
AMD XP 3200+ Barton
1 GB Corsair Pro Series XMS Extreme Memory DDR400 (dual channel)
ATi Radeon 9800 Pro 256 Mb
DFI Lanparty NFII Ultra B
WD 74 GB 10,000 RPM Raptor
Aspire X-Alien Case with 420 watt PS
Lite On Dual Layer DVD +/- RW
Sony DVD-ROM
Sony Floppy Drive
Logitech Cordless MX Duo
XP Pro
blackwrx is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 02:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 325
Default

Raid is a great way of using multiple HD’s to make data retrieval faster, more secure, or both. The three raid setups are called Raid 0, Raid 1 and Raid 0 + 1. Raid 0 is the fastest option, as it puts half of all files/folders on each disk, (of a pair), so when you recall the info, you get the data almost twice as fast as using a single disk.

Raid 1 is a secure method, where the whole file is copied to both disks, so in the event of disk failure, you will always have a copy of the data, (in raid 0, you lose everything with a disk failure).

Raid 0 + 1 is a ‘best of both worlds’ but you need 4 HD’s to use it. It basically uses 2 HD’s in Raid 0, with the other 2 drives in Raid 1 with each of the Raid 0 drives, allowing fast data retrieval, with good security/redundancy, (hence, 0 + 1).
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeWill
Aquarius 2.... performs as well as urinating in your heatsink
LV38_Eagle is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 02:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

Depends on which drives u want to install the program
Usually when u install a program it will prompt to c: where u installed the Os, by that time u have to decide which drives u want to install the program in.
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 08:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by LV38_Eagle
Raid is a great way of using multiple HD’s to make data retrieval faster, more secure, or both. The three raid setups are called Raid 0, Raid 1 and Raid 0 + 1. Raid 0 is the fastest option, as it puts half of all files/folders on each disk, (of a pair), so when you recall the info, you get the data almost twice as fast as using a single disk.

Raid 1 is a secure method, where the whole file is copied to both disks, so in the event of disk failure, you will always have a copy of the data, (in raid 0, you lose everything with a disk failure).

Raid 0 + 1 is a ‘best of both worlds’ but you need 4 HD’s to use it. It basically uses 2 HD’s in Raid 0, with the other 2 drives in Raid 1 with each of the Raid 0 drives, allowing fast data retrieval, with good security/redundancy, (hence, 0 + 1).
How do you go about setting up a Raid array?
linkk24 is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 09:47 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 87
Default

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=17936
__________________

__________________
Current Computer Specs
Athlon XP 2200+ (266 FSB)
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe
1GB Corsair PC2700 C2 Pro Series (2x512)
Thermaltake 11+ HSF
Asus GeForce 4 Ti4600 128mb
420 Antec TruePower
4x Plextor DVDRW
Soundblaster Live 5.1!
120gb Maxtor SATA 7200rpm
60gb Maxtor ATA/133 7200rpm

Currently building a new one (ETA July/August)
archon45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.