multiple cpu question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-07-2011, 08:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 108
Default multiple cpu question

I have decided to go with an asus z68 motherboard now and plug in a cheapo cpu, below, and upgrade once ivy bridge comes out. my question is once I put in the ib cpu is there a way I can make use of this extra cpu? I was thinking maybe you could get a little chipset that plugs into a pci slot so when I tax my system to the max, like autocad or something, I could kick on that extra little cpu hanging out a pci slot for like a 15% or so boost in computing power?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116409 this is the cpu

if this could work could you point me to the proper chip I need, no luck with google. what do you think? first time builder here.

thanks!
__________________

gordonie is offline  
Old 11-07-2011, 08:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: multiple cpu question

Quote:
Originally Posted by gordonie View Post
I was thinking maybe you could get a little chipset that plugs into a pci slot
You used to get this exactly; they're called daughter boards. However it's not something you get nowadays. Sorry.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 11-07-2011, 08:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 108
Default Re: multiple cpu question

heeyyy I was right lol! What do you mean, people just dont do them anymore and companys dont make them?

What about multiple cpus on ONE board?
gordonie is offline  
Old 11-07-2011, 08:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: multiple cpu question

Quote:
Originally Posted by gordonie View Post
heeyyy I was right lol! What do you mean, people just dont do them anymore and companys dont make them?
Companies don't design their chips to do that any more.

Quote:
What about multiple cpus on ONE board?
That's fairly common in servers. There's no Sandy Bridge dual-CPU motherboard that I know of but there might be.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 11-07-2011, 08:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: multiple cpu question

Not yet, that is what the 2011 are going to be.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 11-07-2011, 11:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 108
Default Re: multiple cpu question

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Not yet, that is what the 2011 are going to be.
duel cpu boards?
gordonie is offline  
Old 11-07-2011, 11:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: multiple cpu question

He was saying that Sandy-Bridge, with 2011 chipset, will have dual CPUs. They have yet to come out yet.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Hard Drives Question jason93 System Upgrades 11 04-08-2010 10:04 PM
Multiple Screen Question. Jayce Off Topic Discussion 10 11-11-2006 03:09 AM
SATA2 Question (Multiple Hard Drives) blewandowski_69 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 05-30-2006 07:43 PM
question on multiple IP's killians45 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 10-28-2005 12:27 AM
mail server and multiple domain question Alexander Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 11-01-2004 08:07 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.