Multiple CPU with one monitor!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2004, 10:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 25
Default Multiple CPU with one monitor!!!

Hi folks...

I have a problem here. Can anyone suggest some means to solve it..
I have a small desk with two CPU and a monitor.
I had my old CPU working well of course but i got another one from my frnd :-))
yahoooo. But his monitor is a crap and so was I/P devices. So I just din't care to bring it home.
And now i need to connect these two CPU to the same monitor and the keyboard and the mouse. I am having CYBEX SwitchView.
The problem is i do not know how to proceed.
Any suggestions would be highly appreciated.
Cheers,
__________________

swinghead is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 01:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

they make a deivse that connect 2 cpu, i/o to to 1

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...Sku=C184-29561
__________________

__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 12-24-2004, 12:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Yep $35.00 I was getting ready to get one.It will let you hook your mouse monitor and keyboard to 2 computers.You can just switch back and forth with a key stroke.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 06:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 25
Default

Sorry for the delay in replying back.
But how do we know the Keys to be used to switch to the different systems?
swinghead is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 06:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by swinghead
Sorry for the delay in replying back.
But how do we know the Keys to be used to switch to the different systems?
Should tell you in the instructions or on a sticker on the back of the unit or it may have a button right on the unit to use.

You can try ctrl, ctrl, enter that's what my switch uses.

Josh
__________________
<img src=\"http://dc.liquidninjas.com/dc/ln_dc_sigs.php?xfahuser=Josh18657&xfahteam=13285\" >
Josh18657 is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 10:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 25
Default

thanks any way,
but unfortunately do not possess product manual since it was obtained form one of my friend. And ther is no label with this info.
As you have told the push-button does work perfectly.
Thank once again but i need the key strokes for making ti user rather than leaning over every now and then.
swinghead is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 11:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

You need a KVM switch. I have one and I'm using the same kb, mouse, and monitor for four pcs. I think there is a KVM switch that comes with a built-in router so the internet connection is split between the 2/3/4 computers.
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 08:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 25
Default

Thanks Megadeth2. But i guess u dint get me.
I had mentioned earlier that i have a CYBEX( which i now known as Avocent) Switch is indeed a KVM switch. Th eproblem i had was how to connect and how to find the hot keys used to switch between the different systems.
But thanks for ur advice.
And just to let u guys know. I have understood which the hot keys are.The product manual as such was given(as PDF file) in the Avocent site.
The hot key used :- Ctrl+Ctrl+ the port name into which the system is connected on to switch box.
__________________

swinghead is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.