Multi Screen Setup (without after market gpu) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2015, 04:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2
Default Multi Screen Setup (without after market gpu)

I've been asked to do a multiple monitor setup at work with around 10 monitors. Buying high end graphics cards isn't an option though, so it would have to be in an inexpensive method. Multiple computers isn't a problem, if something like that is possible. Windows 7 would be the ideal OS, but if it's not possible on there XP or even linux would be ok.

Anyone know of a way to do this? If so, your input would be great.
__________________

gjacob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2015, 09:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Multi Screen Setup (without after market gpu)

Moved to peripherals board.

You don't need to spend money on high end graphics cards...a couple of cheap low end cards will do as long as you're just doing basic tasks on them.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2015, 11:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Multi Screen Setup (without after market gpu)

Can you give a bit of hardware info?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 04:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2
Default Re: Multi Screen Setup (without after market gpu)

Dual GPUs aren't really an option because the PCs don't have any PCI or AGP slots.

Specs:
2.4GHz dual core CPU
2GB RAM

PCs are optiplex 785s, do have multiple of them at disposal
gjacob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 06:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Night Ninja
 
MidnightShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 776
Default Re: Multi Screen Setup (without after market gpu)

So, what exactly are you trying to do? If you want multiple monitors on one computer, you're going to have to have multiple video cards (or one that can handle more than a single monitor). If you're using multiple computers, are you trying to share more than one computer with a single monitor? That would require something like a KVM switch or KVM software.
__________________
MidnightShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 10:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Multi Screen Setup (without after market gpu)

Have you tried 1 monitor on the VGA and another on the display port?

You can also get USB to DVI/HDMI dongles for under $80.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 10:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard of Wires
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: 4321
Posts: 696
Default Re: Multi Screen Setup (without after market gpu)

That is a commercial /industrial controller board. It's not meant for every day computing. It's meant to used as an embedded system.
__________________

setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dual monitors, multi monitors, setup

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multi screen setup CollegeofSummerhold New Systems | Building and Buying 0 09-20-2012 06:53 AM
Building a multi-monitor computer. (Stock Market) RossNews New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-26-2011 04:49 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.