msi k8n neo4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2005, 07:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default msi k8n neo4

ive got problems with my new board.

1) in running raid0 on my hdds and after the post thingy has gone it goes to a screen where it lets u setup the raid and tells u to press f4 if u wanna go there so thats all dun and sorted but now its still there even though i dont need it and it waits 30secs before continuing to boot its only minor but so so annoying does any1 know how i can turn this off. ive looked in the bios but cant find the option for it anywhere?

2) ive got 3 120mm fans hooked up so far (1cpu 1 case 1 psu) and the 3 of them cant be heard over 1 tiny little fan on my nforce4 chip. it cant be more than 30mm by 30mm but is so loud. now i know zalman do a larger heatsink for northbrigde chips

http://www.zalman.co.kr/eng/product/...dx=71&code=014

as do thermalright

http://www.thermalright.com/a_page/main_product_nb1.htm

BUT now here lies the problem, my 6600gt card is very very close to it so i dont know if i can fit anything else on there. and ive felt it and the heatsink around it is quite hot so i cant just unplug the fan any in put on both problems would be nice. thanks
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 07:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

a small pic of where the nforce cooler is
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 51200003.jpg (62.1 KB, 37 views)
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 07:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Although it is indeed very close I would think the thermalright NB-1 should still fit on there.

But from the picture it's hard to tell how much room you currently have in there as it is being that you're shooting from a top angle down.

Try to get one of the side to see how much room there is.

It's a little out of the way of the card though so it's not directly behind the PCI-E slot, so what part of the card would you think it'd hit?

Capacitors or somethin?
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 05:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

ok heres sum more pics best i could do cos ive only got my p910i to use as a camera
the arrrow is pointing to a small black capacitor thats about 25mm away from the motherboard so the 2 above probably wont fit
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 05:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

another few
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 05:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

again
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 09:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

i have the same problem, but i dont have a gfx card yet . . . hopefully, MSI will email me back what heatsinks can go there

in the mean time, can you test what performance your 6600GT gives in the pci express x16 slot, and then what performance it gives in the pci express x4 slot (two away, it's also yellow)

i dunno if it will fit because there are a couple of transistors there and it is awfully close to the cpu and ram DIMMs . . . but MSI made that slot to do a partial SLI configuration, so my thought is that a pci-e card would fit there . . .
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 09:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

btw, what case are you using? we have almost the same CPU (i have 3000+, you have 3200+) the same PSU, same mobo

and my case has 3 case fans (which are SUPPOSED to be loudest things in the comp)
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 04:04 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

ahh didnt know u could do that. yea il try it np. atm ive only benched marked using 3dmark01se and got 14700ish but i am using a dual monitor setup as i know that uts alot more strain on the card. i think we could get the thermalright one to fit on becuase of the shape of it the fins on he outside are shorter than those in the middle and een if its just abit off i might try and bend the fins alitttle to get it past that capacitor. il try benchmarking it in the other slot later today cos gotta go to uni now.
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 05:01 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

ok ive just ran 3dmark01se again but this time ive turned my daul monitor config off, and the vtuner o.c prog i got from gigabyte is reading 500/1120 for core and memory. and i scored 21140 points so its gone up alot more than i expected im gonna rerun benchmark again see if that result is constant then try the card in the 4x speed slot
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.