MSI K8N Mobo to RAM compatability ?Question? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2005, 08:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 56
Send a message via AIM to WisdomRacing
Default MSI K8N Mobo to RAM compatability ?Question?

Ok well I have an MSI SLI K8N Neo4 Motherboard and some PC3200 RAM. One is 512 and the other 256. On that mobo there are 4 slots for memory. Right now I'm using 2, the left and 2nd to right slots. But when I tried switching them to the other slots, it didn't work. And when I've had it at the configuration stated before, I tried putting a 128 into one of the open slots but it didn't work either. Do I have to be Dual Channeling for it to work or something?

Thanks for the help.
__________________

WisdomRacing is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 09:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

You can only run 2 differnt size and speed sticks if you have 4 slots.
Your 512MB and 256MB are running in single channel. If you add another stick it has to be a 512 running with the other 512 in the same channel. Same with the 256.

So you can't add a 128MB stick into the mix.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 07-03-2005, 02:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 56
Send a message via AIM to WisdomRacing
Default

Oh ok thanks man
WisdomRacing is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.