MSI K7T Pro2 and Athlon XP 1800++ ... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2004, 02:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 98
Send a message via ICQ to pmg4lktan Send a message via AIM to pmg4lktan Send a message via Yahoo to pmg4lktan
Question MSI K7T Pro2 and Athlon XP 1800++ ...

Hi guys,

had been quite sometimes since i last visit this forums ... anyway, just have a quick question here, hope the experts can help ...

as i checked with the MSI's site ... they say that Athlon XP 1800++ is NOT SUPPORTED by the K7T Pro2 ... may i know what exactly does that means? will the processor run at lower speed or won't work at all? i'm using the processor with Abit KT7 currently, and it's running at 1150MHz as it is not fully supported by the motherboard ...

thanks in advance!
__________________

__________________
Best regards from,
pmg4lktan
pmg4lktan is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 03:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

im looking here:
http://www.msi.com.tw/program/produc...ail.php?UID=98

and i dont see anything of it not supporting the 1800+

it should support it, i dont see why it wouldnt
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 07:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 98
Send a message via ICQ to pmg4lktan Send a message via AIM to pmg4lktan Send a message via Yahoo to pmg4lktan
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by waynejkruse10
im looking here:
http://www.msi.com.tw/program/produc...ail.php?UID=98

and i dont see anything of it not supporting the 1800+

it should support it, i dont see why it wouldnt
hi, thanks for your prompt reply ... but did you look at this page? it states that Athlon XP 1800++ is NOT supported ...

any idea? thanks and have a nice day!
__________________
Best regards from,
pmg4lktan
pmg4lktan is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 10:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

hmm, it will work but it probly run it at 1.2ghz, thats all
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 10:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 98
Send a message via ICQ to pmg4lktan Send a message via AIM to pmg4lktan Send a message via Yahoo to pmg4lktan
Default

thanks wayne ...

so ... are you sure that 100% it'll work? just want to make sure before i make my purchase ... don't want to buys something that won't work with my processor ... thanks ... and have a nice day!
__________________
Best regards from,
pmg4lktan
pmg4lktan is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 10:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

well, im not 100% sure,
what i suggest is that you buy a Asus a7n8x, its new and is full featured, rather than getting that older motherboard. The a7n8x will let you upgrade to a barton 3200+ later. its well worth it.
Wayne
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 10:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 98
Send a message via ICQ to pmg4lktan Send a message via AIM to pmg4lktan Send a message via Yahoo to pmg4lktan
Default

well, thanks for your suggestion ... but then i'm going to get that old board for my "old" pc ... not planning to upgrade ...

may get the Acer Ferrari 3400 ... but still will use my old Athlon ... i'm planning to change because the Abit KT7 i'm using currently don't have sound card built-in and the ISA sound card (ESS Tech) i get elsewhere isn't working ... so i'm looking to the MSI one ... can get it for about US$ 15-20 used ... is it better for me to get a cheap sound card instead? what should the budget be then?

if i get the Asus as you suggested ... would've stuck between SDRAM and DDR2 ... i still have a 128MB and 256MB SDRAM around and using it now with my Athlon+Abit board ... so that's why i chose MSI K7T Pro2 ...

any advice? Thanks ...
__________________
Best regards from,
pmg4lktan
pmg4lktan is offline  
Old 11-14-2004, 01:19 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
• Supports AMD® Athlon™/Duron™ Processors
• Supports 600MHz ~ 1.2GHz
Theres your Answer. It supports Athlons and Durons which Athlons are different from the XP, they were before the XP series so no that motherboard more than likely is not going to support that CPU at all as the BIOS probably won't recognize it.
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-14-2004, 02:27 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 98
Send a message via ICQ to pmg4lktan Send a message via AIM to pmg4lktan Send a message via Yahoo to pmg4lktan
Default

thanks Nubius ... that's quite clear enough ... but should Abit KT7 support Athlon XP?

since the page stated only Athlon/Duron ... but i'm using it with my Athlon XP 1800++ after all (@ 1150MHz though) ... thanks and have a nice day ...
__________________

__________________
Best regards from,
pmg4lktan
pmg4lktan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.