msconfig.exe (startup):: delete the unchecked? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2004, 10:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Lightbulb msconfig.exe (startup):: delete the unchecked?

I have noticed whenever Spyware gets on my PC, sometimes it will dump some crap into the startup. When I msconfig it, they show up ok. So, I uncheck what I don't want started up.

When I restart, the apps are still unchecked, however, they are still in the Startup list. Is there anyway to remove them?
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 12:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 118
Default

Can someone post a list of what windows actually needs in the startup config please! I unchecked some stuff, but some of it I can't tell whether it's something windows needs or whether it's spyware and crap. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
My new toy!
AMD XP 3200+ Barton
1 GB Corsair Pro Series XMS Extreme Memory DDR400 (dual channel)
ATi Radeon 9800 Pro 256 Mb
DFI Lanparty NFII Ultra B
WD 74 GB 10,000 RPM Raptor
Aspire X-Alien Case with 420 watt PS
Lite On Dual Layer DVD +/- RW
Sony DVD-ROM
Sony Floppy Drive
Logitech Cordless MX Duo
XP Pro
blackwrx is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 12:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 233
Default

That ones easy. Windows XP NEEDS nothing. You can uncheck and delete all of that if you want. Just beware some of your hardware like printers, USB devices etc do. If you know what files your hardware needs you can delete what it doesn't. Don't know any other way to say it.
__________________
Come visit a new technology and digital image arena website where you may compete in monthly image contests and chat about technology. t3ch.l33t is currently searching for members to help manage different areas of the site. t3ch.l33t Image Arena Home

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...ch_l33tsig.jpg
crazybeans is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 12:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 182
Default

on the topic, i have about 2 blank startup items, and a "null" or two. Can I assume all of these can be disabled? Anyone know what they mean (the blanks, or the nulls"?

Thx
regeisle is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 12:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 233
Default

The best time to delete startup entries is right after a fresh install of XP. Windows can function 100% without the startup items. You'll actually be amazed at how much you can disable on your system. For a great link to tweaking your system check out this site. I would recommend this to anyone, my benchmarks went up a significant amount after the tweaks. Plus it's a good learning experience! Have fun :P

[link]http://www.tweaktown.com/document.php?dType=review&dId=324[/link]
__________________
Come visit a new technology and digital image arena website where you may compete in monthly image contests and chat about technology. t3ch.l33t is currently searching for members to help manage different areas of the site. t3ch.l33t Image Arena Home

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...ch_l33tsig.jpg
crazybeans is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 12:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 233
Default

<--- smacks self. Make sure you leave out the [link] and [/link]. Have had a few too many drinks tonight lol. Hope it helps.
__________________
Come visit a new technology and digital image arena website where you may compete in monthly image contests and chat about technology. t3ch.l33t is currently searching for members to help manage different areas of the site. t3ch.l33t Image Arena Home

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...ch_l33tsig.jpg
crazybeans is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 12:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you can actually run any program in XP without explorer.exe
you can get into a game, press ctrl+alt+del then close every program (or every program it allows you to close) including explorer.exe but excluding the game, then:
1. the game has more resources to run on
2. the game actually does run perfectly fine
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.