Moving an ext HD to another computer... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-03-2005, 09:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 87
Default Moving an ext HD to another computer...

I want to put some files that are on the external hard drive onto a dvd, but my friend has the dvd-burner. Can I just simply take it to another computer with a dvd burner without the hard drive being reformatted and losing all my stored stuff?

Midnight is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 10:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
macdude425's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425

Yes, unless you formatted the drive as, say, ext3, and your friend uses Windows. But I'm pretty sure that's not the case (it's probably not formatted, which is good).

BTW, the max size for a picture in a sig is 480x120. Yours is waaaaaay over the max.


Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 10:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
Harper's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Exclamation WATCH OUT FOR NERO Version 6

If he is using NERO 6, make sure he has the latest patch.

The problem that I had with Nero 6 , Windows XP SP2 and External Harddrives is that Nero as this bad habbit of erasing your partition once you start burning.

I think that the later patch (Nero 6.3 onwards) sorts this problem out. I am still too paranoid to try. :amazed:

Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 11:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 87

Yeah same here. I do have Nero 7 though.
Midnight is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.