Movie to VCR - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2007, 03:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
Posts: 142
Default Movie to VCR

Is there a way, using my Tv tuner Card, to record an mpg to a video cassette? My TV Card has an RF port and an S-Video port. The VCR I have access to has RCA ports on it and an RF in and an RF out.
__________________

sir nerdalot is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 05:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: Movie to VCR

hmm not that i know of but yeah maybe it is possible as you can plug it into the VCR but... WHAT!?!??!?! a VCR? that is so old and outdated that's back in early 90s which the last time i used a VCR was around late 90s... no wonder people are still using modems and people are still using stone axes back from stone age lol.
__________________

__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 05:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
Posts: 142
Default

I have a very old TV at my other house, and I want to be able to umm...get...movies off my computer, put them onto video and watch them at my other house. Also, for this to work, my TV tuner card would need to broadcast the signal. I don't know if TVs can do that. I could do this the other way of course (VCR to comp.), but thats not what I want to do. So, there probably isn't a way is there? Also, do they still rent out video tapes at BlockBuster?
sir nerdalot is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 09:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Movie to VCR

I'm not sure on this, but what you could probably try, is connecting the coaxial cable from the tuner card's RF port (if it's an output), to the VCR's RF in. And let the VCR record. The problem is that, the ports on TV tuner cards, are all in ports....because it's meant to record.

I think Blockbuster still rents VHS tapes, but very very few. But you should really buy a dvd player. They're super cheap now, and I've seen some for $30-50.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 01:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: Movie to VCR

The easiest way would be to pick up a converter box ($20 bucks about) that will allow you too take the S-Video out + Audio Out from your pc and covert it to RCA which you will input to the VCR. Then, just hit record on the VCR and start playing the MPG. You might want to have an output from the VCR hooked up to a TV to make sure you are displaying what you want to record out to the VCR.
__________________
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 01:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178
Default Re: Movie to VCR

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
They're super cheap now, and I've seen some for $30-50.
I bought one for $.01 on eBay, with "Free Shipping", and that was over two years ago. Granted, I guess it was a bit odd/lucky, but he came through and I had the player within a week.

BlueHeaven's idea sounds the easiest and I bet you can get the adapter for a bit cheaper.
__________________
Vormund is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 02:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Question Re: Movie to VCR

Quote:
Originally Posted by sir nerdalot View Post
Is there a way, using my Tv tuner Card, to record an mpg to a video cassette? My TV Card has an RF port and an S-Video port. The VCR I have access to has RCA ports on it and an RF in and an RF out.
Ever hear of a portable dvd player w/7" screen. Less than $80 now days.
__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 07:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
Posts: 142
Default Re: Movie to VCR

Well, thanks for everyone's help but lets assume I can't buy anything. So, If I got the idea right, I would convert my S-Video out into a regular video in?
If that is the case, can a VCR record off an RCA input?
sir nerdalot is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 08:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Movie to VCR

Quote:
Originally Posted by sir nerdalot View Post
Well, thanks for everyone's help but lets assume I can't buy anything. So, If I got the idea right, I would convert my S-Video out into a regular video in?
If that is the case, can a VCR record off an RCA input?
Yes it can.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 07:27 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
Posts: 142
Default Re: Movie to VCR

Alright, thanks heaps for your help everyone. The thing I like about this site is that you get responses so quickly and all the replies I have gotten have been helpful.

EDIT: What format does a video file have to be in to go on a cassette tape?
__________________

sir nerdalot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In Search of Software: Movie Player aetherh4cker Microsoft Windows and Software 4 06-11-2007 11:29 PM
Is this movie a chick flick?? veg1992 Off Topic Discussion 25 05-30-2007 10:30 AM
Help creating DVD and converting movie formats JA01 Microsoft Windows and Software 10 04-20-2007 09:28 AM
need windows media player and movie maker fix mikee Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 11 04-17-2007 07:15 AM
Two new Transformers movie posters Trotter Off Topic Discussion 5 03-28-2007 04:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.