Move 30GB Hard Drive Data To New 120GB Hard Drive - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-18-2004, 08:29 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to DavidWatersUGP
Default

Hmmm...I have it as a slave now and I'm actually fine with that. I just install new programs and put stuff on it now. Would the 8MB Buffer, etc on this new hard drive really help start up any faster or anything REALLY worth making it primary? the 30GB and the 120GB both have the same RPM speed....7200.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.ultimategp.com/\">Ultimate Gaming Performance</a>

<font color=\"BLUE\">Intel Pentium 4 <b>3.2Ghz</b> (1MB L2 Cache, 800Mhz FSB)
</font> <font color=\"RED\"><b>Hyper-Threading Technology</b></font><font color=\"BLUE\">
ECS Motherboard
256MB DDR RAM by Crosshair
nVidia GeForce2 MX/MX 400 (64MB)
Maxtor 120GB Ultra Series Hard Drive (7200RPM)
Maxtor 30GB Hard Drive (7200RPM)
DavidWatersUGP is offline  
Old 11-18-2004, 08:32 PM   #12 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Depends, what are its other specifications? RPM, read/write speed etc. (compared to the other drive)
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-18-2004, 08:34 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to DavidWatersUGP
Default

Just updated that post...they both have 7200 RPMS
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.ultimategp.com/\">Ultimate Gaming Performance</a>

<font color=\"BLUE\">Intel Pentium 4 <b>3.2Ghz</b> (1MB L2 Cache, 800Mhz FSB)
</font> <font color=\"RED\"><b>Hyper-Threading Technology</b></font><font color=\"BLUE\">
ECS Motherboard
256MB DDR RAM by Crosshair
nVidia GeForce2 MX/MX 400 (64MB)
Maxtor 120GB Ultra Series Hard Drive (7200RPM)
Maxtor 30GB Hard Drive (7200RPM)
DavidWatersUGP is offline  
Old 11-18-2004, 08:37 PM   #14 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I don't think its really worth it. Maybe its a few seconds faster? don't kno
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 04:22 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to DavidWatersUGP
Default

Does anyone else know? Does the 8MB buffer would really worth making it Primary? Like I said, I have it as a slave, I'm still not sure if it's worth doing the image and making it my primary. 30GB (I think the buffer is 2MB) 7200RPM's vs the 120GB 8MB Buffer 7200RPM's. I'm just curious if I would notice any speed in Windows as far as file transfers, etc, on the 120GB that would be worth the move, vs the 30GB I'm on now.

Thanks,
David Waters
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.ultimategp.com/\">Ultimate Gaming Performance</a>

<font color=\"BLUE\">Intel Pentium 4 <b>3.2Ghz</b> (1MB L2 Cache, 800Mhz FSB)
</font> <font color=\"RED\"><b>Hyper-Threading Technology</b></font><font color=\"BLUE\">
ECS Motherboard
256MB DDR RAM by Crosshair
nVidia GeForce2 MX/MX 400 (64MB)
Maxtor 120GB Ultra Series Hard Drive (7200RPM)
Maxtor 30GB Hard Drive (7200RPM)
DavidWatersUGP is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 04:33 PM   #16 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

The buffer is beeing transfered at the end of each read action at the maximum transfer speed. (burst speed)
This only lasts a few seconds so you will have 8MB beeing transfered at 133MB/s
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 07:24 PM   #17 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DavidWatersUGP
Does anyone else know? Does the 8MB buffer would really worth making it Primary? Like I said, I have it as a slave, I'm still not sure if it's worth doing the image and making it my primary. 30GB (I think the buffer is 2MB) 7200RPM's vs the 120GB 8MB Buffer 7200RPM's. I'm just curious if I would notice any speed in Windows as far as file transfers, etc, on the 120GB that would be worth the move, vs the 30GB I'm on now.

Thanks,
David Waters
Not really, not anything you would notice

I would personall leave the 30 gig alone, install the 120 as slave,
format it as ntsc. then I would click start, programs, my documents
right click it and select properties (this is the only place you can do it)
and click move. you can move your documents to your second hard drive and it would be set as my documents.

now if your Os become corrupt or you get an uncurable virus, you could reinstall xp without losing your data

but if you want to do it your way, use Pm to copy the drive (it will set it as hidden), use the pm boot manager to set it as active and reboot your computer. it will reboot as your second drive

PM is better than ghost for copying a hard drive
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.