mouse settings reset after restart - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2005, 07:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default mouse settings reset after restart

I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this, but here I go.

I own a Cordless MouseMan Wheel by Logitech that I got with my Dell (I gladly don't use Dell anymore). I have the latest drivers from Logitech. Using the mouse setup thing, I set my thumb button to double click.

The problem is whenever I restart my computer, the thumb button gets reset to "go back". I have to open the mouse settings and simply hit "ok" to set it back to double click.

Any ideas how to fix this? It used to work fine on my old computer.
__________________

__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 09:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

sorry. all i can say is its amazing the trouble that the humble old mouse causes us techies
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 09:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 199
Default

I am not familiar with logitech mouse, but did you use a custom logitech software to do your setting? or in the OS control panel/mouse? maybe you have to set both to work?

sorry I can't be much help.
hkfnstang is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 10:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by hkfnstang
I am not familiar with logitech mouse, but did you use a custom logitech software to do your setting? or in the OS control panel/mouse? maybe you have to set both to work?

sorry I can't be much help.
I have a feeling that you have hit the problem right on. I am using the logitech software, but I think it is integrated "over" the os control.

I go to start -> control panel -> mouse and simply hit "ok" and the thumb button gets set back to double click. I think that this is the logitech menu setting its own settings whereas the OS one hasn't been set to double click and is just setting it to the default "go back" at start.
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 12:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 37
Default

I've had a Logitech cordless mouse before and I believe i was having problems with their software reseting my configuration. Try uninstalling the Logitech software and use the Windows mouse configurator to change your settings. Oh and keep the drivers installed just dump the Mouse helper tool.
Noodles is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.