Mouse rate - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2006, 04:49 AM   #21 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Well, mouse rates are never constant. The program is accurate.

It looks like it depends on both the type and age of the mouse. For older mice, PS/2 is better cause old USB mice seem to be limited to 125Hz (although this tool to change the mouse rate should be tested to see if it works for old USB mice, too).
USB also uses more CPU power, but that shouldn't be a problem with todays computers
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 02:45 PM   #22 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Just tested my old PS/2 Compaq Mouse (Two-buttons only).

750Hz!!! :O
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 03:28 PM   #23 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
Just tested my old PS/2 Compaq Mouse (Two-buttons only).

750Hz!!! :O
Well, let's just say every mouse is different, lol.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 01:44 PM   #24 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what's everyone's highest?
so far mine's 2863
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 01:50 PM   #25 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I'm getting an average of around 1000Hz and it's getting as high as 5000Hz
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 01:52 PM   #26 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what mouse do you have?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 01:53 PM   #27 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Looking at the box I have a logitech mouseman cordless optical
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 09:13 PM   #28 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
what's everyone's highest?
so far mine's 2863
I saw 1800 before I quit, but I got bored quick and it was moving so fast I probably missed several quad digits.
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 01:52 AM   #29 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

now my highest is 3126

strange how one of Logitech's older mice has a higher input rate than their G5 (which is designed for fast and accurate response)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 02:14 AM   #30 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

You guys are not really getting that high of a mouserate. This particular mouse rate checker is not very accurate. There have been discussions about it online. The highest you will ever get is mabey a little over 1000Hz (ex:1070hz), but that would only be a short peak, not constant. Here is a much more accurate mouserate checker that uses DirectInput:
http://rapidshare.de/files/24653155/...ialog.exe.html

I average out at about 1020Hz (0.98ms) on my Razer Copperhead. The trick to getting the most accurate reading is to move your mouse in circles, not very fast and not to slow. At a brisk pace. When you think you have got an accurate reading, to stop moving the mouse with as little effect as possible on the reading, you must while still moving the mouse, quickly lift it off the pad. Not directly up, but glide into it, like an airplane takeoff.

BTW, if you have a USB mouse, and have the standard windows default mouserate of 125Hz, here is a program that will allow you to override that:
http://www.proarena.com/p/ftpx/f9057...bmrs11.exe.htm

You can set it to 250Hz, 500Hz and 1000Hz. Use at your own risk, if your mouse does not support the mouserate you select, there is a chance it could be damaged.

Oh FYI, afaik the windows default for a PS/2 mouse is 45hz, and it can go as high as 200-something. If USB has a limit, it has not been reached yet. The top of the line USB mice support up to 1000Hz, but it is possible to go higher (the limiting factor is the mice on USB, not USB itself).
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.